You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Cry Out For Engagement

in #dapp5 years ago

Right now I think blockchain is at the infancy stage still, however that being said, I remember well the transition from BBS to CompuServe/AOL/Genie, and to the internet.

I am not sure who the first free internet exploration tool went to, but I do remember the battles between MS and Netscape, the gradual disappearance of Genie, the CompuServe, then AOL, since the internet exploration tools became so much easier to use to access information.

The Steem Blockchain viewers are in their infancy stage, who will eventually win out? Who will become the next Chrome/Netscape? Who will fade into oblivion like Genie, or fade into obscurity like AOL and CompuServe?

Right now I see three major competitors for block chain access, Partiko, eSteem, and Steempeak, I however would not rule out the steves of the world however, we all know they are conspiring to take over everything, so Steeve app is out there too.

As more chains become available in a social sense, we will then see who can win the race to the moon for blockchain browsers. I am looking forward to the Blockchain Browser wars when they happen.

Can you imagine an all in one place for all your blockchain needs? One wallet to keep your eth, steem, and eos in. One Browser to see, post and comment on in EOS, Eth, and Steem blockchains and those that follow on?

I think Steeve.app will be pretty close to being in the lead there, but thats just me, lots of views out there, heck I still just use the steemit.com surfer, but I do not get ads, if I did I would be using something else.

Sort:  

I do like what steev.app is doing and I have no doubt a lot of its features will be come future staples of any blockchain front end explorer!

I agree we are in the formative years so we are the test subjects for all the growing pains! In a few years we will look back and laugh at how basic we were and how this multichain blockchain front end is so amazing and how we ever lived without it

I just think that to get there we as a community need to say ok what do we want and how do we get it by working together! Do we all start supporting say steempeak delegating stake and getting features added and then start using it as our primary tool and recruiter for new users kinda thing

Not this I’ll sit and wait around for others to make it better, unfortunately this is decentralization so we have to do it together!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is the beauty of blockchain front end explorers. All those "Early" internet companies wanted to control the internet, to be the go to source, they all got swallowed up by innovators who came a long and said, nope sorry, we like what this place is doing with this, and this place is doing with that, and they took the best parts and made it simple and all a person needed now was an internet provider, they did not need AOL, CompuServe, Genie et al; I think it was Linus Torvalds that started the web browsers and pretty much took control of the internet away from the few and gave it to the masses.

I myself do not think we should as a group pick one or the other front ends, The developers will make what people want. Eventually it will be like regular web browsers, a few stand outs a few that people will stand by, and then the masses of blind people choosing what others say they need.

Chrome, MS Edge, Firefox, and Brave, I am sure there are others out there, as I am sure there are some die hard MS Explorer fans out there. We have gone from every phone company being an internet service provider to there only being a few internet service providers today.

Microsoft understands and has not forgotten what happened in the past. That is why they bought Git-Hub. I know people think that they can not control all the development on Git-hub, but then again people thought that in the past, when MS bought DOS, when Microsoft bought Word Perfect, when Microsoft drove Netscape out. Microsoft will do what it can to secure it's future.

There used to be very few Telephone companies, the government decentralized them in the 70's in the United States. There are now very few internet service providers, no local ones to speak of, although that is changing with satellite communications coming to age.

As for the users community coming together, after the out cry of the community to have advertisement and the short shortsightedness of that branch of the community, I would vote for total mayhem before asking the community to decide anything.

I guess we won’t know how this whole thing will pan out as much as we can say it’s superior product a lot of marketing and timing goes into which company wins these races!

I’m just happy to be a long for the ride so I can sit back one day and look at the progress and feel I was a part of it in someway

Lol I get what you saying I don’t mean involve the entire community if we asked them they would just say give us all bigger rewards and steem will be great!

I mean people who see the long game and want to Build something worth competing with centralized options! The mob needs to be the mob I guess a few will guide and the rest help scale

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it is fun being in on the ground floor of the next possible iteration of the next web. I had a lot of fun on BBS's, did I miss them when the full internet opened up, not really. I liked making pages, and animated string gifs and such. Now I am enjoying just watching the change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65