The Stories That Dapp Us

in #dapp5 years ago (edited)

The Recap of "What’s Your Dapp Story"

Last week we asked people to share their own experience with dapp and how they discovered the word “dapp” and here the top 10 stories we think are worth-reading for:


@snook  

Twenty months ago I landed on a world called Steemit. It was a foreign place filled with Steemians. Steemians look like normal people but they were some of the most creative people I had ever come across. A day came in my life, not long after landing, where I was exhausted beyond belief. I had been hearing rumors about a dapp called Dtube and proceeded to investigate. It was close to its infancy when I came across it but with perseverance, I learned how to upload videos. The great thing about any dapp was it was connected to the frontend Steemit so I did not have to leave the same world I was now enjoying being in. Dapps have now grown and flourished over the twenty months I have been here. There is always something new and exciting to try. I love trying new things!!

@decentralizedg  

First time hearing about dapps was at a coffee shop with a startup blockchain company I was helping out. The founder showed me all about how dapps are made and how smart contracts work with the blockchain. This as many others lead me to learn of CryptoKitties and their immense success with their Kitty breeding game. That motivated me to learn about other games made on the blockchain, such as Steem Monsters and Mythereum.   Then it led me to learn about Decentraland and their projects. 

As a person who is not a fan of ICO's, seeing that games were being made that gave the users control of the economy and their in-game content motivated me to start playing more games on blockchain networks and eventually lead me to become a dapp and blockchain enthusiast and create my social channels.

@nygma  

I have joined Steemit in December 2017 and it was at its all-time highs and I immediately felt this is the right community for me. Did a lot of comments in the beginning and when I say that some rare upvotes got me $20 I couldn't believe the quality of some curators and participants to it. My path got me here as I was starting from the middle of 2017 mining for cryptos and wanted to diversify my portfolio. So through search engines, I've got there and thanked God I did it. And from that point on I got involved in any way that I could and always grown my account. I see it a success again and my thought is to ensure myself a daily earning. Nevertheless I want to start some projects as this is the right way of increasing my followers base with truly interested people. Followed the @dapp.com which I seek from time to time to see what top-ups have gotten lately.  

@masterthematrix

The first time I heard about Dapps was back in 2017 when I invested in Ethereum and one of its first dapps Augur and Iconomi. I was fascinated by the idea of a decentralized economy that is controlled by its users in the form of a DAO.


Dapps have many advantages from the users perspective like immutability of your data on the blockchain, no third party risk, rewards and incentives for participating with the dapps. But there are also big challenges ahead like security risks with your Key and passwords, user-friendliness, how to govern a DAO and overall of understanding of cryptos.


Anyways I can see a bright future for all gaming and social media dapps out there. And Steem Monsters, Steemhunt and Actifit are one of my favorite dapps that I use and interact with.

@mrnightmare89

I can't remember when was the date and time about I heard dapp. But one thing is I'm sure of, I heard dapp because of Steemit. Before I have no idea what is dapp. I just made some post in Steemit, in fact, I started loving Steemit because of writing. It made me wonder when I heard about dapp. What is the involvement of dapp from Steemit. Then one of my friends is more knowledgeable than me. He lives in America and he is here first before I join.


Then he started talking about investment in steem and he also said that it's worth investing in steemit. Because he said it's impossible that Steem will gone. The reason that Steem won't go down because of dapp. There are many dapps that always on the top 10 that are used. I knew a lot about dapp games, Drugwars, Steem Monsters, Dtube, Partiko. Of course, I search it on Dapp.com to be sure of it. Then I asked my friend, "what is dapp anyway?" So he answered, "dapp is a platform that talks about blockchain. Either blockchain games and social network. So in my observation, if we're talking about dapp, expect it that it will involve blockchain and cryptocurrency. But what makes dapp interesting because you'll make yourself enjoy and at the same time you can earn. Maybe not only that because of dapp you're aware of what's new in the world. You can also see many writings, and photography.”  

@nathanmars

I don’t exactly remember but I think it’s Mike Novogratz. I was listening to his interview on YouTube and he was telling about Duber decentralized Uber idea. Having live through the mobile app era and iPhone, being a participant in Sharing economy applications Airbnb and Uber, I was able to see the future of dapps. One of the reasons I’m all in with Steem because I strongly believe our blockchain will be the birthplace for dapps that solves real-world problems.  

@alvin0617

The first moment I’ve heard dapp was about the breakout of CryptoKitties saw from one of the crypto- related media like CCN or Cointelegraph. I was so shocked that this game slowed down transactions on Ethereum. Well, I didn’t start to play dapps at that time until 2018, now I’m very addicted to playing dapps on ETH, EOS, and TRON.  

@wesphilbin

I had seen the word "dapp" but never gave it too much thought really. Then... it came up in a conversation with my good friend @ecoinstant, and he made me realize... it's really just an acronym…”Decentralized Application”. So in essence, any kind of application, that is being used on a "decentralized" platform, is just that; a dapp, or perhaps, Dapp, a great conversation my friend, thank you for sharing and tagging me!  

@enginewitty

I honestly don't recall the who or whereas I have been in the crypto-sphere for the better half of the decade. What really caused me to pay more attention though, was a conversation I had with @lukestokes in Nashville. Seeing and hearing his excitement got me more interested and thrilled even, to be in a position to see all of this take place and even conjure my own. I haven't had much success in partnering up with a loyal developer as of yet, so still have hundreds of untapped ideas waiting to burst on to the scene.


@onskygs1 

I read the word “dapps” for the first time a few months ago when I installed Infinito Wallet on my mobile. In the wallet, a special section knows as a browser which has some best dapps which support Infinito wallet are already merged in it. For example, Kyber Network and many others.  

_________________________________________________________

So dear top 10 storytellers, please share your Ether address with a screenshot of your Steemit account to [email protected] for the prize distribution.   


And once again, thank you all so much for your participation!
 

Sort:  

Thank you! Email sent!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there - Just wanted to double confirm the info - so could you please share your ERC-20 wallet address with us to [email protected]?

Much appreciate it!

Okay, second email has been sent. Thank you again!

Nice thank you @dapp.com I just sent you the message.

Hi guys -

Just wanted to double check the info with you before we send out the DAPPT, so could you please share your Ether address with a screenshot of your Steemit account to [email protected]?

@snook @onskygs1 @enginewitty @alvin0617 @mrnightmare89 @masterthematrix@nygma

Many thanks!

I sent you the screenshot of my account and the ether adress.. please notify me if you didn't recieve it, thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

@snook @onskygs1 @enginewitty @alvin0617 @mrnightmare89 @masterthematrix@nygma

I finally figured out, on my end, what was actually needed to complete this and give the requested information. After I took a screenshot of my main page, then installed the MEWconnect application on my Galaxy S9. Once you set that up, and go through the security process, you will go to a QRC code link...once clicked, you can select "copy" and it will copy your public Ether wallet address....if you still need help, I will try to provide more information...

Thanks man I was on top of it already😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome @enginewitty, this is all, of course, confusing to me... I downloaded the MEWconnect app on my android, but still not sure lol. I guess research is needed... I received an email from @dapp.com letting me know the transaction had been broadcasted. I appreciate that... just wish I understood it more... thanks for the reply brother...

Hi Wes!

Maybe this article could help? https://www.dapp.com/article/dappedia-how-to-use-a-dapp

Anyways, let us know if there's anything we can do to help!

@dapp.com... appreciated! I have also joined your May 29 - June 13 EST Pre-Listing Airdrop. As I said... don't know something new, unless you try... then that's another tool, for the toolbox! Thank you again for the link and quick response!

Good to hear! And thanks so much for your participation!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@dapp.com, most welcome... must say thanks to you as well, for the opportunity. I do have a question actually, after viewing the informative link you shared...

I see the MetaMask extension... and the description of the ability to import other "wallets"... I presume the MEWconnect wallet I installed on my Android will be able to be imported?

Yes! In fact, you may look it up on YouTube and there are a few tutorials of how to import MEW to MetaMask. Hope it helps:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haven't seen anything yet, but I know things get delayed. Try Scatter or Coinbase maybe? Easy address acquisition there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there-

We've sent you the Dapp Tokens on June 5th. Just emailed you the tx hash and hope it helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76