Remembering Darwyn Cooke

in #darwyncooke6 years ago

Today comic book creators and others who work in creative industries had been sharing artwork and thoughts on Darwyn Cooke who passed away 2 years ago. Here are some select Tweets from friends:


Two years ago my good friend Darwin Cooke died of lung cancer. He was only 53. Stop smoking as soon as possible. There really is no reason to not quit today. You can do it, if not for yourself then for those you love. I will be thinking of him today like I think of him every day - Jimmy Palmiotti 





 

Catwoman as designed by #Darwyncooke has always been @AH_AdamHughes inspiration for the character. Without Darwin’s genius we wouldn’t have so much of the great stories and character interpretations we do today. Gone way to soon, and so very missed by your friends ❤️ - Allison Sohn 



Every day of my life I walk past this. A constant reminder of my friend Darwyn, who believed in me before anyone else in comics ever did. Let me tell you a story about what kind of dude he was. So, the first issue of ELKS RUN had just come out. Self published by Chris Arundel and I. Art by @NoelMTuazon colors by @ScottKeatingArt letters by Jason Hanley. I’m set up at Wizard World LA. I’m at the @DCComics booth talking to @Ben_Abernathy before the show opens. I’m doing the new comic guy shuffle. Explaining who I am. What I do. And why I love the comics Ben edits. (Which I do. Ben remains one of the best editors in comics history.). So as I flopsweat my way through this, a tall chisel jawed dude saunters up and listens in. He listens in. And stares at the copy of Elks Run #1 in my hand. He interrupts, in a very polite Canadian way, and asks to see the book. Ben introduces us. 

“This is Darwyn Cooke.” Darwyn is already well on his way to legendary status with Catwoman, so I panic more. He takes the book and while I try to get back on track with my “Gee, I’d like to work for Wildstorm” Darwyn proceeds to read the whole comic right there in front of us. Its... awkward, until Darwyn hits a specific two page splash that @NoelMTuazon just kills on. Then he stops. And shows it to Ben. “Now THAT is fantastic!” And he goes back to reading. A few minutes later he finishes the book. Closes it and hands it back to Ben. He looks at me and says “How Long you been writing comics?” And I him and haw about web comics and my anthology...He nods then looks at Ben. “Hire him. You have his contact info?” Ben hands me a card. Which I took. And then Darwyn led me off to meet with a friend of his who was launching a small press. He tells the publisher he’ll do a new cover and for them to republish the book. So. In the span of knowing Darwyn for about twenty minutes he introduced me to one of my favorite editors who I’m still friends with more than a decade later, and got my first book a considerably bigger audience and a cover that should’ve cost thousands. For. Free.

Over the years we’d grab a bite or a smoke or both and always stayed in touch. But then, maybe seven years later I walk past his table to hear a guy loudly arguing with him about the price of a piece of art. Darwyn sees me and waves me over. He announces “My art is worth whatever the fuck I say it’s worth. So for you? Add an extra thousand!” Then turns on a dime to me, and pulls out a page and hands it to me. “Hey Josh. On the house!” And there it was. The cover he did for me. I tried to pay him and he said no. He reaches over the table and hugs me and whispers in my ear. “Pissing off this asshole is payment enough.” And as I walk away he announces again “Free of charge, Josh!” Right in the arguing dick’s face. That is Darwyn. Kind as hell, and even wickeder than that. I owe so much to that man. But, most of all knowing that someone as talented as him treated me with respect and esteem and like I deserved a place in the business... it gave me strength through a lot of the hard times. I’ll never forget you, Dar. Rest In Peace, or at least, piss off a few more assholes.  -  Joshua Hale Fialkov 





 

Missing this fella today. #DarwynCooke - John Cassaday 




 

Timeless. #Darwyncooke - Adam Faberman 




 

Darwyn always captured something essential in his art that conveyed so many things I love about comics. NEW FRONTIER is a tremendous work. He should still be with us, telling more stories. - Jeff Parker 




 

Remembering Darwyn, at his best. - AH_AdamHughes




Bronze Age Classic Comic Book - Captain Carrot from 1982

Dream by Lee Bermejo

Comic Books from the 90s - Cliffhanger from 1997

Sort:  

Hats off. I first learned of Darwyn Cooke through a Francavilla tweet that professed much respect. I immediately saw why.

"I've never drawn Godzilla" Dar says. "Here, have at it" I tell him, handing over the rough sketch I had just pencilled. I ❤️ U, brother. - Francesco Francavilla

Fantastic. Darwyn was a rare talent that is definitely missed. Glad you did this piece.

OMG. That Fialkov story, every part of it, is a gem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97