c0ff33 drives to Pontefract - V. Wet (I should have used a boat!)

in #dashcam6 years ago (edited)

Good news, finally some driving footage with no snow involved 😃 The UK has finally returned to it's regular weather conditions.

That's right, the tropical temperatures of 6 degrees Celsius and of course it's Raining. Near gale force winds as well, perfect morning to drive to Pontefract to deliver and install a 2 group espresso coffee machine. And where I am delivering to is in the pedestrianised centre of Pontefract - so I have to get there before 10am and the barriers go up closing off the centre from traffic.

The problem with setting off at rush hour in the morning, is my route takes me past Leeds on the M62 - a particularly busy and slow section. Insert various fond words of driving encouragement here 🤬

Clearing the jams it's still soaking wet, if in doubt the force will see you through!

Finally we are nearly at the destination, Sunny Pontefract by the Sea.

A brief pause to call for directions - it went something like "Where is your Shop, I'm parked next to B & M" He says drive onto the pedestrian area "But the entry has a NO ENTRY sign?" Nobody pays any attention to that he says.

Follow me he says, good plan but you are walking and I am driving - where was that button that narrows my SUV width

Finally parked up to unload I would have taken some photos, but after all the hastle getting there I was more interested in getting the job done. Added complications were the lack of the correct electrical fitting to wire the machine to - so I had to resolve that myself, the builders were quite helpful and encouraged me to flush the cold water feed into the sink - the plumber was not so pleased as he was finishing the drain connection at the far end of the pipework and got a face full of cold water 😳 The shop was still a building site but I have to return in the future so hopefully will grab some pictures then.

Setting off to leave, I do a slow tour of the pedestrianised town centre, every exit I pass is blocked by bollards because it is well past 10am. Back to the shop to enquire how I escape from Pontefract. Bollards are up 10am to 4pm the builders helpfully say. Bollards I say 🤬 A quick phone call to da boss man "Drive up to the bollard where you came in" he says "It has a pressure plate before it and will lower the bollard so you can leave" Ah Bollards I said.

The trick does indeed work, although I can't decide how long to wait for them to drop - you can't see them below the bonnet line - and I don't want to wait too long incase they come back up while I am passing by! Using the force I pass without adding some new bodywork air vents to the car.

Driving back the Sat Nav decides to take the scenic back roads to make the video more interesting. It also had me join the motorway after the roadworks.

Nearly back to work, the busy A58 has flooded from all the rain.

And entering Halifax another flood - not rain this time a burst water main.

And that was my Wednesday morning, never a dull moment despite the weather.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

For Steemit to grow we need to post rich content - interesting and unique posts that encourage others to join in and share their experiences. If you feel your own posts are not doing well look at what your favourite content creators are doing - if you like their work they are doing something you could do as well - think of way to do similar things with your own unique twist.

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

As Steemit grows making your content stand out gives it a greater chance to be seen and enjoyed, I try to work on making one post a day - but making it as big and content rich as I can. I don't know if this is the right way, but I enjoy the most big content rich posts - and a wise man on Steemit once said to me - make your content like the content you enjoy.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Hi @c0ff33a! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Breathless Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

How do get up early and go for work on this weather its so difficult man its like an adventure .

I want to taste your coffee someday , Can I give you my address to send some coffee huh I'm just kidding @c0ff33a

I do send coffee all over the world, so nothing is impossible. Congratulations on reaching 50 reputation my friend, keep working hard and it will keep going up.

Nice atmosphere and excellent driving. Thanks @c0ff33a for sharing the beautiful videos.

Thank you for taking the time to view my work and leave a comment, very much appreciated.

You have an adventure every day! How lucky can you get Thank God that snow went the way of the water main, right?

Tip!

And that is just the half of it, but really I am fortunate because what I like in creative skills to make blog posts I can make up with just filling them out with my varied daily life! Thank for dropping by to experience my journey :-)

Haha! We could take a poll on that, but, yours are enjoyable and keeps us all coming back! Steem on, my friend!

@c0ff33a - The weather is so doomy but you are so great to wake up and go out for work on this type of weather. Have a great Day :-)

Thank you for dropping by, looking at my work and leaving a comment - I really appreciate it.

It is nice to wake up early in the morning to work during the rain
Have a good day sir

Indeed it is better rain then snow and ice! I also like the chance now and again to drop my boy of at school and give my partner a rest.

Thank you dear friend for sharing in my best drink cofee and your trip
Good luck

Thank you for your continued support my friend, it was a trip to share coffee joy with the People of Pontefract because I was delivering a coffee machine that will make them wonderful coffee to enjoy.

Great my friend
I think you have a coffee distribution company

nice weather! have a good day mr coffee man

Thanks, the ducks were loving it!

city streets that randomly close makes navigating an urban environment even more exciting, pedestrian streets are so charming.

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment - I really appreciate it :-)

Thanks for taking a look at my work and leaving a comment - and I love the calling card!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71