[Short Story] - A revolutionary product

in #davidkain6 years ago (edited)

The writing prompt was:
"Something with chemicals"

Provided by @calluna


writing-prompt-fulfilled-3.png
Image courtesy of @rocking-dave


“Are you trying to play me?” Ray looked me in the eyes and his four men pointed their guns at me. “I’ll only ask you once, then I’ll stop being nice. Where’s the stuff?”

“You’re looking at it.” I shrugged.

“What do you mean I’m looking at it?” He reached into the briefcase I had brought and pulled out a moist white cloth then wiggled it through the air. “Does this look like a revolutionary product to you?” He waited a while for an answer but I just stared him directly in the eyes. He then turned around to his colleagues and asked them the same question, to which they all shook their heads no. “Of course it doesn’t. It’s fucking baby wipes!”

“Alright, alright!” I needed to buy myself time–I didn’t want to ruin the grand product reveal I had envisioned. “Jeez! You people have no sense of humor. It’s in my car, okay? You got the money?” I tried to reestablish the situation.

“Listen, you don’t get to ask questions around here, okay?” He signaled two of his men to go find my car then wiped his forehead with the wet wipe. “The only question right now is if I’ll kill you quick or not.” I tried keeping a straight face but when I saw his pupils suddenly dilate, I couldn’t help but smile the widest I ever have in my entire life. “What are you smiling at?” He wanted to act tough but I could tell he was already tripping hard–his eyes turned vacant and his head was wobbling side to side. “What did you do to me?”

“Told you it was right there.” I chuckled.

“What? How?” It looked as if his body liquefied and spilled over his leather armchair. His comrades didn’t know what to do–await his command or just shoot me on spot. “What did you give me?” I had to try really hard to understand him because he babbled really badly.

“Relax. It’s acid.” I laughed. “You kind of screwed yourself up because you wiped your forehead with it.”

“How? How?” He hardly even moved his lips.

“Monday. Same place, same time.” I spoke boldly–I knew I had full control of the situation.

He tried answering me but instead started laughing uncontrollably. I looked at his two accomplices and they nodded–the meeting was arranged.

Just outside the safehouse I found the other two accomplices of his who were sent to find my car.

“If you two pulled your heads out of your asses for a second, you’d know I screwed you over by now. I took a bus to Lensington’s then walked.” They weren’t as fond of my joke as I was and I could see them seething with anger. I didn’t stop in my path and proceeded to walk away. “Well, I’m done for today, so I’ll see you Monday.”

Back home I called my employer and told him the deal was taking place on Monday. He confirmed to wire the money as soon as it was done.

Come Monday Ray was in a far better mood–I had a product he was very much interested in.

“How does it work?” He asked when I placed the briefcase in front of him same as last time.

“If I told you, you could start making it on your own and I’d lose my cut.” I chuckled, but Ray and his accomplices didn’t find my humor amusing. I sighed loudly to let them know I was joking, then walked over to the briefcase and picked up the pack of wet wipes, careful not to touch the damp cloth. “Have you ever heard of a chemical called DMSO?” I walked over to one of his accomplices and offered him a wet wipe. He waited until Ray nodded it was okay for him to take it, then pulled one out of the pack. He didn’t know what to do with it, so I showed him to place it on his arm anywhere. “Dimethyl sulfoxide.” I walked over to the next of Ray’s men and offered him a wipe also. “A chemical capable of passing through your skin straight into your bloodstream.” Ray approved for another of his accomplices to take the wet wipe. “Best of all? It can take any chemical you want with it.” I walked over to the last two of his men and offered them a wipe also. “LSD, morphine, heroine, you name it. Needles and scars are a thing of the past, friends.” Ray approved for them both to take a wet wipe as well and they both placed them on their arms. “The only downside to it is a slight garlic odor and subtle garlic taste in your mouth, as I’m sure you’ve all experienced, but other than that, perfect.” I made my way back to the table and placed the pack of wet wipes in front of Ray.

“How hard is it to get ahold of this?” He leaned forward in his chair toward the table and pulled out a wet wipe for himself but held it with the tips of his fingers–he wanted to talk more before he got high.

“Easy. Any chemist has full clearance and it’s not on the list of controlled substances.” I got carried away and told too much – I had made myself disposable. “And all you have to do is just mix the DMSO with the drug.” Having told too much already, I tried fixing the situation by telling him everything and reassuring him it was okay to apply that wipe already–his colleagues were already bummed out in their chairs.

Still carefully observing the wet wipe, he nodded in approval. “Why wouldn’t I just kill you right now, then?”

I could feel my heart skip a beat. I had made the mistake of telling too much too soon. “Because I have full clearance for everything you need to make heroin.” I could tell he liked what he heard. “And I can make it.” We both smiled–not only would he not kill me, he would have wanted me to work for him.

He pointed at the wet wipes and offered me to take one for myself, which I did. He then pointed to an armchair beside him and I gladly took a seat.

As if holding a glass of liquor, he held the wet wipe high. “Here’s to a fruitful relationship.”

“To getting the entire world high.”

We tipped the wet wipes as if they were drinks, then rolled up our sleeves and applied them on the inner side of our forearms and lay back in the armchairs.

I pretended being high for roughly a minute, then carefully removed the wipe and stood up from the seat.

Ray, already heavily intoxicated, asked what I was doing. “You see, Ray, it’s just as I told you. The DMSO carries anything you give it straight into your bloodstream. Last time it was only acid, and today it was a little ricin along with it.” I could see him wanting to reach around his back for his gun but failing miserably–he could hardly move his limbs at all.

“H-how?”

“Synthetic rubber.” I peeled off the clear coat of rubber from my arm as if it were an additional sleeve–the expression on his face was priceless.

“Now smile for the camera, will you?” I pulled out my phone and moved backwards enough to get all of them on the picture.

With my mission done, I put on my butyl rubber gloves I had hidden away in a concealed compartment of my briefcase and carefully picked up all the wet wipes from their arms, and threw them in my briefcase not to leave any evidence behind.

I left the premises with no difficulty at all–the rest of Ray’s guards hadn’t had the slightest idea about what had happened.

As soon as I was out of their view, I sent the picture to my employer and he wired the money to my accounts. I checked all of them and made sure all the money was there, then disposed of the phone.

On my way home I couldn’t quiet down my thoughts. On one hand I had promised my wife killing Ray was my last job but on the other I was too good at it to stop–and I enjoyed it, too. I couldn’t lie to her even if I tried and I knew she wouldn’t stay if I didn’t retire. It was either her or my job.

Standing in front of my house I had decided.

I would wire her some money but I wouldn’t quit.

Liked what you read and want more?
Want access to exclusive stories?
Or maybe just want to support me as an author?

I present you with my first published collection of 33 morbid stories!


Some stories are exclusive to the collection and some are freely available on the STEEM blockchain. The latter were largely overhauled before publishing, so you're in for a treat even if (you believe) you've read them before.


Orders placed until 1st of October (2018) have a 20 % discount!

Short stories I have written so far:

Morbid
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
• Living off the grid
• A young thief
• A traitor from hell
• Not alone
• Millitary testing grounds
• Bigfoot
• Love
• Rabbit hole
• Reborn
• Salesman
• Rebellious food
• Ssssnails!
• Mission Erased
• Dog's breath
• Green Chewing Gum
• Turkey Trauma
• Stuck in a loop
• Abducted
• Killer clowns
• A penny
• Fear
• Morning coffee
• Midnight sunshine
• My new home
• Protest
• Revolutionary product
• A dolphin tea party
• Stained hands
• The giant depressed onion
• The red star
• Long-distance Relationship
• A dream
• Potato
• Dragons
• The Jungle
• A life lesson
• Unicorn meat
• The Purple Road
• Immortal Store Clerk
• Artemis' Hell
• A scientist's journal
• One of many
• Gone in 10
• Loss









• Homeless man
• A blind date
• A wealthy man
• Happy ending
• Asshole soulmate
• My bunny Fluffy
• War veteran
• Meet a villain
• School trip
• Crafted armor
• Radio Show
















Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

Absolutely epic. Love the twist at the end! Well played.

Thanks! Very happy to hear you enjoyed it!
Big thanks to @calluna, though, for having reminded me I am a chemist and can kill do various things using chemicals.

This story was so believable. I loved all the details and all the little body movements and smirks and things you have your characters do. I feel like I am watching them in real life...in my head. And the wipes we so hard core. Loved it!

...wow. your rep is already at 41. That's pretty impressive!

Thank you!
It was a real delight writing it down because of how silly the baby wipes were and yet so very deadly at the same time.
Paints a new perspective on gang-wars and killing drug lords.
I wonder how much this chemist got paid for what he had done, and what his past (and future) work was... I might employ the chemist villain again sometime... It's fun! :D

And the movements you mentioned... YES! Thank you so much for noticing and enjoying that! The part with liquefying was by far my favorite! It just instantly paints the picture in your head of a person who had completely lost his motor functions and just lays immobile.

Indeed it is! Your upvote definitely helped! Thank you very much! :D

Favorite lines:

He wanted to act tough but I could tell he was already tripping hard–his eyes turned vacant and his head was wobbling side to side. “What did you do to me?”

It looked as if his body liquefied and spilled over his leather armchair.

Come Monday Ray was in a far better mood–I had a product he was very much interested in.

“Synthetic rubber.” I peeled off the clear coat of rubber from my arm as if it were an additional sleeve–the expression on his face was priceless.

Yesss! The synthetic rubber layer was priceless!

Now that you mentioned these.... I have a hard time re-picking my favorite! :P

So very happy to hear you enjoyed it!

I knew it! I knew it :D
I knew someone is gonna die!

Who would've thought that with me and my stories, huh? :P
You out of all people should've never been able to guess. ;)

Thanks for stopping by and reading! >;D

Ha! I am that good :D

Sure you are!
Pats you on the head
;P

Congratulations @davidkain! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh, I liked that story. Really inventive. Good job.

I got this from PYPT, so thanks to Svashta for sharing it.

Thanks! Very happy to hear you enjoyed it! :D

@svashta is actually my account, only made a separate one to have it fully dedicated to my work as an author, while keeping the @svashta account more on the private-side where I get to share just about whatever I feel like.

I totally get that. This account is where I write anything controversial, and then I have @granolalight where I don't swear and keep things homesteading related.

I also inherited @fromthebeginning, but I don't know what I am going to do with that.

Yeah, kind of the same thing going on here. ^^

But.. but... You have it right in the description already. :P

Probably post funny cat memes and other fun stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96