Utopian (DaVinci) Translator Application

in #davinci-application6 years ago (edited)

Hello,

my name is Sebastian Bacia, I'm an 18 year old student from Kraków, Poland as well as an ex-utopian.io moderator. I would like to apply for the position of a Translator, as I think my skill set is perfect for this job, I'm a native Polish speaker with a C2 level In English.


A bit more about myself:

I'd like to quote this segment from my utopian.io moderator application because it fits perfect here.

"I was born and raised in Poland, I didn't really have the perfect childhood as I come from a broken home. I moved quite a lot and began to isolate myself from the outside world, falling in love with music and the internet. Because the majority of the stuff I was interested in was in English, i picked up the language pretty fast, mostly from watching a lot of TV shows, reading different articles or forums in English and simply listening to music.


 Although a lot has changed, my isolation from the world at a young age now seems like a blessing in disguise, I travel a lot, talk to a lot of foreign people on daily basis as well as translate open source projects to my native language. All this wouldn't be possible without me learning English from such a young age."

Why me:

I'm an experienced translator who loves contributing to open source projects, I have translated a considerable amount of projects over the 2-3 months I was active on utopian.io and in a short period of time I became a moderator. Unfortunately, due to some personal and school issues I became inactive for a few months, but now I'd like to devout a serious portion of my time to doing what I really enjoy. Below you can find a link to my crowdin profile which is filled with projects that I have helped translate.


VIDEO PROOF

PL Translation:

Cześć,

nazywam się Sebastian Bacia.  Jestem osiemnastoletnim uczniem pochodzącym z Krakowa jak i również byłym moderatorem utopian.io. Chciałbym zgłosić się na pozycję tłumacza, gdyż uważam, że mój zakres umiejętności jest idealny do tej pracy. Moim rodzimym językiem jest polski, natomiast moja znajomość języka angielskiego znajduje swe miejsce na poziomie C2.

Trochę więcej o mnie:

W tym momencie pozwolę sobie zacytować fragment z mojej aplikacji na pozycję moderatora utopian.io ponieważ pasuje on perfekcyjnie tutaj.

"Urodziłem się i zostałem wychowany w Polsce. Nie miałem idealnego dzieciństwa, gdyż pochodzę z rozbitej rodziny. Przeprowadzałem się wiele razy i z czasem zacząłem izolować się od świata zewnętrznego, zakochując się w muzyce i internecie. Z racji tego, że większość rzeczy które przyciągały moją uwagę były w języku angielskim, szybko nauczyłem się go, głównie poprzez oglądanie seriali, czytanie różnych artykułów i forum w języku angielkim oraz zwyczajnie słuchania anglojęzycznej muzyki.

Mimo tego, że dużo się zmieniło, moja izolacja od świata w dzieciństwie okazała się być błogosławionym w skutkach nieszczęściem. Dużo podróżuję, rozmawiam z obcokrajowcami na porządku dziennym, a także przekładam projekty open-source na mój rodzimy język. To wszystko nie byłoby możliwe bez mojej nauki języka angielskiego w tak młodym wieku."

Dlaczego ja:

Jestem doświadczonym tłumaczem, który kocha współtworzyć projekty open-source, pomogłem przetłumaczyć pokaźną ilość tego typu projektów w przeciągu 2-3 miesięcy mojej aktywności na utopian.io, podczas której w bardzo krótkim czasie zostałem moderatorem. Niestety, w związku z problemami osobistymi i tymi związanymi ze szkołą przestałem być aktywny na kilka miesięcy, lecz teraz chciałbym poświęcić dużą część mojego czasu na wykonywanie tego, co naprawdę sprawia mi przyjemność. Poniżej można znaleźć link do mojego profilu crowdin wypełnionego projektami, które pomogłem przetłumaczyć.


Sort:  

Hey, @fuzeh! Glad to see you're back!

I feel obligated to write a short message of recommendation, since this person is one of people that used to moderate under my supervision before the Translation category closed down.

Fuzeh is very reliable and his English skills are indisputable. He was a great help back when we worked together and I can definitely recommend him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73