Sort:  

Thanks! This is my first introduction to a dbook! I enjoyed the companion lore very much, but this post had a longer payout time left, so I will be leaving this comment here!

I have featured you (and this post) in my collection for a curation contest found here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-6-entry

Thank you so much for featuring me - before I leave the realm of under 50... (I'm at 48.9 at the moment, so it won't be long now.) I'm glad you're enjoying the writing. There will be more companion information coming, but at a slower pace than the rest of the fiction - not to mention that the companion info will be updated frequently as the stories require it.

Oh, I will also just say that dbooks still has some compatibility issues between Libre Office and it... good thing I can hand-code HTML! (Though I need to go and remove that stray tag in the table I put in there...)

I used to use Libre quite often, and then for some reason it had a problem with the Excel sheet that our tax accountant used. That was no fun, to discover all the entries corrupted for no obvious reason....

My husband has heard a rumor that there's been some funky stuff going on with Libre Office this year - like sabotage... I've had a lot of trouble with it this spring, whereas I'd never had problems before. Still, I prefer it to the others. Unfortunately, there is a lot of "stuff" behind the scenes which can create issues when crossing to a different word processor or editor. When I tried using the same files with even Open Office, I found that I would have had to re-format the entire thing because it was too different - and when you're talking about 20k+ words, it's a bit of a nuisance.

i did put things into Wordpad which worked perfectly with Dbooks, but it threw out a lot of my formatting too - including my font. Usually, if I'm using a weird font, the word processor is able to adjust and sort of borrow the font for the page - this is useful. Wordpad can't. Sorry, but I don't like the regular boring fonts! I'd rather use something with a little more elegance without going over the top. So, I like fonts like Gabriola, Nyala and (currently) Andalus.

I use Google Docs partly and then I also have a subscription for Word. I can just rack it up as a business expense anyway...

I have no idea about fonts, although, for writing invoices I guess anything other than comic sans tends to be okay!

True, font really doesn't matter on a receipt as long as its legible.
I went through a comic sans stage - but only until there were other ones which were still creative enough to tick that box for me and more professional looking. Now, I find it too childish.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

good story and great post my friend

hello @viking-ventures You know why I am here this time :) I reviewed your story again sorry I can't give another upvote it only allowed 1 .
It is a tribute to you that you are nominated and your support is appreciated Thank you very much :)

Awww, thanks so much. I'm very pleased that people are enjoying my work. The story goes back to the "binding story" (Rebound of Power) tomorrow - which prepares the way for the next novella!

Knowing that people enjoy it spurs me on to write more. (1500 words today...)

Another fine chapter @viking-ventures!

I made my way here this time because @bengy featured your post in his Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry.

Thank you! It really did thrill me to be featured by @bengy. So awesome!
Anyway, I'm so glad you are enjoying the story. It's one of the older stories in my repertoire, and one of the rare ones that I wrote in first person. I normally write in third person these days.

You are most welcome! This contest is bringing a lot of otherwise unnoticed quality posts to the forefront I think ...yours included :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95