What did old Athens look like?

in #dclick5 years ago

Hi all,

In this post, I am going to show you some pictures of old Athens, that is some old Athenian houses in various states of repair (or disrepair).

The inspiration came at a Chinese restaurant I visited the other day; I looked across the street, and I saw this house:

20190106_153933.jpg

This area is not quite 'reputable'; that is the reason not many people wanted to live here, so there was no financial gain in demolishing these little houses to build apartment blocks. And the area has in some places stayed the same as forty or fifty years ago.

So after my meal, I started to walk around and take pictures:

20190106_155918.jpg

20190106_155245.jpg

Not very nice, is it?

But I also found some well preserved houses. These have been well maintained, and I have been told they look beautiful inside too.

20190106_161707.jpg

20190106_162429.jpg

I find them so beautiful. Or maybe I am just old-fashioned.

And that's the end of this post. I hope you liked it.

Thanks for visiting. Bye!


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

This kind of architecture is very present in Brazil too.
image.png

nice. like the colours

Even the neglected buildings, to me, are more attractive than the typical block of flats (apartments/diamerismata) throughout Athens. Those thing are not only soul-less, they also suck the souls out of the tenants.

Thanks for this post - it would be a work of art if someone would go to the areas where the old archondika houses exist and create a record of them, for they too are quickly disappearing.

you are welcome. yes, some of them are very nice

Σίγουρα πιο ανθρώπινη και όμορφη από τη σημερινή!

Posted using Partiko Android

tora pou to skeftomai
iparxoun kai oraies monternes katoikies vevaia
alla avta ta palia exoun goiteia nomizo

Άλλη αύρα ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59