You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I learned over the past months on Steemit

in #dclick6 years ago

Nice point of view, I enjoy reading different opinions than my own to help me better guage the community's feelings.

I will admit, I can see why when the majority of the early-crowd you hung out with left, you'd wanna pull back to. I get that. I could sit here and preach to find new groups on Steem, but sometimes you just don't wanna fucking do that and you shouldn't have to. So, really, I get your frustrations there.

As for the SMT stuff: To be fair, from the beginning Steem was meant to be an application-based platform. It's not a "social-media-blockchain". It's a blockchain, which is made specifically for better dapp development. Steemit was just the first dapp to run on it, and Steemit Inc. chose to make it a social media type of blogging site.

SMTs may actually help out in the areas you dislike more than you think. But I don't wanna act like the crazy-crypto-cult type of guy, so I won't make any speculations about them. They're too far out to even think about in these types of contexts yet.


I hope you find the platform that makes you the happiest, I hope that Steem lives up to its potential, and I hope that blockchain technology innovates on how we operate in this world.

Time will surely tell haha, good luck with whatever you choose to do :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your perspective! 🙏
I'm not sure if Steemit was really meant to be an dApp based platform from the beginning. What you say is true, but this is nothing unique to Steemit. As I said, there are many blockchains that promise the same and some of them already do it very well. (it = tokenization etc)
What made Steemit so unique for me, was its "proof of brain" concept instead of PoW or PoS. So in my perspective they are moving away from something unique to something that is really mainstream. Doing so, they are suddenly swimming in dangerous territory with lots of competition they didn't have before...

Ok, so, I'm going to be one of those annoying correcting steemians you might have seen around and just clear up a slight semantics issue. When you're saying "Steemit", what you should be saying is "Steem".

Steem = the blockchain / protocol / underlying code base
Steemit = the blogging platform build on top of Steem

For more info, I recommend this great write-up by Steemit Inc. themselves regarding being a dapp focused platform first and foremost: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-basics-why-steem-is-an-application-specific-blockchain

So, really, if you just don't like how Steemit is doing, then in theory SMTs could allow for a third-party to develop a new blogging structure on Steem and fix those issues. Apparently Ned is working on something "sorta" like this? Not much is known about it however.

I'm aware of this difference and I never used Steemit as an frontend - always preferred busy.org and other apps. My critique is actually on both or to be more concrete on Steemit Inc who is responsible for both. Some points like the 13 week power down concern also both at the moment. Since there is no way to clearly filter content from different apps, this is also an issue concerning both. SMTs may fix some of these issues, but again, this is only a fix needed already for a long time and no innovation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82