You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I learned over the past months on Steemit

in #dclick6 years ago

First I saw, that people like Bernie Sanders, who have not contributed one intelligent thing to the blockchain are gaining a huge following and through power plays mobbing other users to their exit.
This new level of cyber bullying was a huge turnoff for me and I even more was annoyed by all the people rewarding this behaviour with their votes.
How could anyone with a reasonable IQ vote for hate speech and mobbing?

He was part of the early mining phase where he got his massive stake through mining (I think using Amazon's AWS) before STEEM discontinued PoW.

This is a wrong business decision from my perspective, since you should focus on what you can do best and not copy other business models.

It's not copying. It's specialization. EOS is a general purpose model like a car. STEEM is becoming an off-road vehicle which does one thing (social media blockchain) extremely well. It's basically allowing anyone to make their own social media product. Imagine Snapchat and twitter were apps built on top of FB. That's what STEEM is doing.

Lastly I realized, that having your funds being frozen for at least 13 weeks is a killer

This is to make sure that those who vote has a stake on the platform. If the restriction wasn't there, anybody can do something malicious and simply cash out.

Nice to see that you are using @dclick

Sort:  

Thanks for your view on this! 🙏
Regarding the Sanders bully: I don't mind how exactly he came to his stake, but how he behaved afterwards and how much following he gained who support his hate speech and flaming/mobbing. That really concerns me...
I'm not sure about the specialization part of Steem. This is pure speculation and why should a blockchain specialized on social media be better for dApps than EOS? Especially since any dApp will need to prove on its own, that they can deliver? The technology behind it doesn't make it automatically a successful dApp...
I do get your points though - I just doubt that will happen...
And about staking: Yes, I don't have problems with long term investments in general, but staking on other blockchains does grant me a guaranteed ROI, while staking on Steem just gives me a /potential/ ROI. This makes a huge difference. When I stake and freeze my funds with Tron or EOS for a certain period of time and use my Tronpower to vote on certain projects, I get daily rewards for sure for - well - doing nothing. (and the staking requirement is just 3 days!)
Here I am forced to stake for at least 13 weeks and all I get is the possibility to /maybe/ earn Steem, if people like my content. This simply doesn't add up for me...
Thanks for your perspective again - very much appreciated and unless there is a better alternative I will stay here anyway! 🙏

When I think about Berinie, I think about the works of Eric Hoffer Bernie is a big account. So people come around for upvotes. Some people are just miserable and want to see the world burn. Bernie is always complaining and for some people that hate the platform Bernie sounds like a great guy. Bernie doesn't produce anything but he is always attacking. It's like a typical commie or tyrant. It's easy to rally behind complains that trying to have a discussion and create something.

Transisto and grumpycat/madpuppy tried to pull of some arbitrary policing on the platform too. But they bought their stake and eventually gave up. grumpycat/madpuppy pretty much just powered down. I think Transisto is now running a bidbot. They were forced to act in a certain way because they had more skin (funds) in the game.

why should a blockchain specialized on social media be better for dApps than EOS?

Think of EOS as a car and STEEM as an armored vehicle or an off-road vehicle. The scaling also gets easier because of the limit of the kind of DAPPs. @dlike @steemhunt @steemmonsters and even @dlive got most of their promotion and adoption through simply being on STEEM. It's easier to promote your product on STEEM. It's like releasing your video game on Steam or GOG.com The DAPP will hae to prove itself. Bu on STEEM it's easier.

I haven't used TRON. But none of the other projects are based around stake based voting on content creation. Even with the 13 week limit people like bernie just self-vote on single sentence posts. Now imagine if everyone started doing that. the overall quality of content would go down. So either we'll have to go for a system like @steemhunt ABV or simply make it risky to be able to vote. STEEM is making the investment riskier hoping that people would vote responsibly to improve the platform and take at least mid-term decisions. It doesn't work perfectly. but it does have a positive effect.

@dan says he will eventual build a social media DAPP on EOS. But at least until then we are at the best place to be.

It was nice taking to you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70572.77
ETH 3817.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53