You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deaf Awareness Tip of the Day

in #deaf6 years ago

Thank you for these tips. I'm starting to learn them one by one, as my dad is also starting to lose his ability to hear due to age.

So, trying to explain everything in as few words as possible, as slowly, clearly, and calmly as possible seems to be the key as far as I can understand until now.

Sort:  

When communicating with your dad, it's not a bad idea to use your phone to type and show him what you want to say to him, or to text him back and forth even if he's in front of you. Some deaf are known to carry around a notepad and a pen. I personally carry around a cheap Android tablet I bought off Amazon just in the off chance I need it so someone can communicate with me. Some people speak and I just can't catch any words.

Thank you for the tips. Have you thought about using the speech to text tools that exist in all smartphones nowadays? That could help too.

In my dad's case, what I figured out is that I talk to my mom first and she knows better how to communicate to him, slowly and with as little as words as possible. So, that helps as well.

That's how I actually handle phone calls, but generally speaking, for everyday conversations, it's not all that great, especially in noisy environments. Two way phone calls, it's OK, but for person to person interaction face to face? Terrible.

I typically read lips, it's just I can only communicate one on one so a 3 way conversation is far more draining, adding more just forget it.

Perhaps consider talking to your like like an old school google search. ;) Instead of "When was the last time you ate?" you'd say "When Last Ate".

Perhaps consider talking to your like like an old school google search. ;) Instead of "When was the last time you ate?" you'd say "When Last Ate".

Unfortunately, this is actually what I'm doing more and more nowadays.

Right on. There are numerous ways to communicate with the deaf and hard of hearing, just got to do it. If he can see just fine or even with glasses, you can type what you want to say on your phone and just show him your phone if that's easier for you. :)

Great discussion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65