An Affair With Death

in #death4 years ago

pexels-photo-3289156.jpeg

Oh sweet, sweet death,

How much I’ve longed for you

Surround me with your cold embrace

And place your lips on mine.

Days and nights stretch long and weary,

I yearn to be free, from this mortal prison.

Dust I am, and to dust, I shall return,

But not before you hold me close,

And rid me of this loneliness

I weep at dusk, longing for someone,

But no one comes, and I am left to weep.

Tell me, oh wise death, oh wonderful death,

Is this how I die if I have lived at all?

Tell me death, oh reaper of souls

If I was a sweet-smelling rose or a mere weed…

Tend this garden of mourning souls,

And tell me what I am to you.

Come to me, oh sweet, sweet death

Come to stay, and not abandon

Lie not to me, break not my heart

In my death, and what comes after

Be with me, and love me true.

They touch me, only to strike,

They speak but only to ridicule,

They watch me, like famished vultures,

So I ask of you, oh sweet, sweet death

Hold my hand and shield me quick,

For this mortal vessel can stand no more

I have loved not one, and have not been…

For I am, but an unlovable being

You were yesterday and will be tomorrow

I seek you like the treasure you are,

So shine through your veil and help me bid

A farewell to this pitiful world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61