Kwon Oh-cheon died in a ferry sinking

in #death5 years ago

“The pain I feel over my brother’s death is my last connection to him,” Kwon said. “If I lose this anguish, I will have fully lost him.”

That quote is from an LA Times article (https://www.latimes.com/world/asia/la-fg-south-korea-ferry-20160415-story.html) about the continuing pain and anger people felt two years after the Sewol ferry sinking, which killed 300 people. It struck me and has stuck with me since I first read the article in 2016. Now I wonder if he still feels this way.

"I know why we try to keep the dead alive: we try to keep them alive in order to keep them with us.

I also know that if we are to live ourselves there comes a point at which we must relinquish the dead, let them go, keep them dead.

Let them become the photograph on the table.

Let them become the name on the trust accounts.

Let go of them in the water.

Knowing this does not make it any easier to let go of him in the water."

This is from The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion, the memoir she wrote after the death of her husband, John Gregory Dunne. I just finished it, and I'm having a hard time remembering what she's referring to with the water. I think it's from an earlier section in the book, where she talks about how she used to imagine what she would do if the plane she were in had to crash land in the sea, how she would have to let her daughter float away without her, because she (Joan Didion) was having her period and sharks would be attracted to the blood.

Yes. Must be that.

I'm thinking of this idea I have for a reading/writing project that would involve reading books my dad read, based on lists he kept. I like it as a reading project and as a way of kind of walking in my dad's shoes. Is that not letting him go?

That is not a question I expect or want anyone else to attempt to answer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 1.08% upvote from us for your 140 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @stinawog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44