Good Debate

in #debate6 years ago

I love a good debate. Sometimes I have friends that get mad at me when I automatically contradict their general statement that they just made about something or other.
Over the last 20 years I have notices a horrible decline in healthy debate. Media may be part of this yet I think that it runs deeper. What that is would requires a long discussion with many in different fields and disciplines.

In the media we often see debates that are angry, superficial and finger pointing, rather than rational, empirical evidence based. We have almost accepted this as normal and have not longer adhere to the art of debate. The extreme views of each side I think has tainted this for so many.

In the past few weeks, I have been lucky to find individuals that understand the art of debate. It gives me hope that there are great debaters still out there. check out the following and judge for your self

Sort:  

You have made quiet an intelligent observation and I think the media's attention should be drawn to this because debates are form of learning to individuals and the society at large.

Thank you. We are seeing a big shift happening in many Universities (in Canada at least ) where bringing ideas and having a good discussion is no longer a priority for learning. It saddens me greatly. I do hope that we have gone enough to the other side that we are going to come back to rational thought and critical thinking. (ps I apologize for my horrible grammar above --did give myself time to proof read it) .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66