Redesigns

in #decoration5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0536.jpg

My room had been the same for ages, and the dominating feature there used to be Donald Duck (aka. Aku Ankka in Finnish) comics: posters on the wall and a big shelf full of comic books.

DSC_0548_01.jpg

Though most of them are not there anymore.

DSC_0522.jpg
I still have more of some misc Donald Ducks, but almost all the poketbooks are in this picture.

The only reason for the shelf to exist was to fit all the comics in there, but I haven't read a single book in years – at this point they are just a relic of my past hobby, which was to collect those comics. But priorities change by age, so now is a time to finally get rid of them. Then, I can also get rid of that bulky shelf and replace it with a smaller one and have a bit more open space in my tiny room.

I also did some decorations, like changing my old curtain that I've had as long as I can remember.

DSC_0529.jpg

DSC_0553.jpg

This was actually a left-over from my mother's moving that I got to keep, and I would say it is much better, even though the pictures are in a different lighting – the design is just really nice.

DSC_0557_01.jpg

Furthermore, the posters I mentioned – I did take them away a while ago and left that drawing alone to the wall above my bed. This drawing has kind of an interesting history, because it was sold by some Polish artist who was going door-to-door selling his(?) drawings (I don't actually remember for sure whether it was a man or a woman).

DSC_0552.jpg

There is a signature there, but I'm not exactly sure what it says.

DSC_0542.jpg

Davek Wy...something-ykovski? I don't know... somebody who's familiar with Polish might be able to tell me.

DSC_0544.jpg

For years I've gone without much paying attention to my environment – my room where I spent a lot of the time – until recently when I've realized that having a mess around me might contribute negatively to my inner state (or maybe it's a reflection of one's inner-state – I think it goes both ways).

Reminds me of @galenkp's somewhat famous quote:

"Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default"

I find it to be a pretty good quote when thinking about it, because as people, we have the power to design things with conscious effort, create order from chaos, if we so choose. The opposite option though, while being lower resistance, might not end up being that fulfilling.

Sort:  

Being a guy who basicly lives in an empty room with a bed and a laptop, your post inspired me to give more though to how I could improve my surroundings.
Does make a big difference in your room !

Small things can make a big difference especially when there's already little in the room.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahah, this is really cool 😎

About this Polish artist. Actually I haven't hear about him before, but
It is most likely Darek Wyrzykowski. Darek is short for Dariusz (Darius)
Wyrzykowski is a semi-common name in Poland. I know one family personally.
So... that is that...

Oh. look ...tumble weed....

Thanks for clearing that up. Now I at least know the real name.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's important, even though we don't pay that much attention to it. A bit of light or more space or even a happy image can make so much difference ;) I like the changes!

Sometimes the smallest things make the biggest difference :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Donald Duck reigns to this day :D Impeccable drawings... such awesome art.

Yeah, Finns especially tend to like their Donald Ducks and it's actually a major source where kids learn written Finnish language.

Powerful. Don't you think? Languages make us 🙂

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Thanks for the upvote :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @celestal

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.398 which ranks you at #2353 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 56.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87