100 days of value challenge - Day 89: Don't be afraid to greet a fellow human

in #deegram5 years ago

Day 89 - 100 days of value challenge!

My home town of Kristiansand is so beautiful at summer. Every Tuesday we have concerts down by the pier.

Meeting all the people who are back for the summer or on vacation is great. Hanging out with my regular friends and having a good time is also great.

And when I think about it, I really appreciate watching all these random people I don't even know having a good time. It gives me joy and reminds me that we're all able to have a good time and enjoy ourselves. (even if it means that the drunk 55 year old behind me keeps bumping into me while dancing on his table, lol)

I think we all need to take that "summer and drinks in the sun" vibe where we're all happy and cheerfully greeting randoms with smiles and nice comments into our daily life. Why is it that we're only like that when we drink or are out with friends?

I remember back in the day when I was really young. I had a really strong and deep voice, my mother even said that she didn't need to look for me in the kindergarten, she could just follow the sound of my voice.

At that time, I could just walk up to someone in the streets and be like "hey, who are you? Wanna play?", and for the most part I got a yes and we had fun. The best part was actually that when I got a no, I just smiled it off and said ok and went on to find someone else.

Why aren't we like that today? Regardless if you're approaching the opposite sex or not, why can't we just greet someone and figure out whether they want to be your friend or not? We sometimes do, but most often we need to be drunk to do it.

My theory is that it's because we're afraid of the rejection. We take pride in ourselves and think that a rejection might lower our value in other peoples eyes. And if we're drunk, we at least have the excuse that "oh yeah I hit on that girl, I was so wasted".

That's bullshit. There's nothing wrong with a rejection, no matter if you were trying to make a friend or something more. Because face it, not all people are going to like you. And that's fine. You don't like everyone either.

And we need to accept that fact and dare to risk rejection. It's not the end of the world, trust me 🤓

❤️ 100 days of value challenge - Day 89: Don't be afraid to greet a fellow human
Posted using Deegram @deegramofficial https://www.deegram.com/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67287.17
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16