You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heart of Darkness: The CIA- MACV-SOG & Phung Hoang (The Phoenix Program)

in #deepdives6 years ago

Great post on an important topic! What do you think of Douglas Valentine and his version of the story? He seems a little less forgiving of Colby and his involvement in the operation.

Anyway, was a great read...Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

I have nothing against Doug Valentine he does a fine job with the information he gathered. If there's any fault in his work it's that he takes an anti-American involvement standpoint. I'm a little burned out and not explaining myself well I'm afraid. I question our motives, not our methods. He questions both.

I believe that we were there as part of a deep state op to protect the drug trade. In retrospect that's my only regret... I killed people for drugs and that's one of the things I have to live with. I went to Nam to "make the world safe from Communism." Funny how differently you see things when you're 72 than you did at 18. I guess that's why young guys fight the wars. The people in Vietnam didn't know a Communist from a Great Dane- they just wanted to eat everyday.

I can't even imagine how hard it must be for you, knowing those facts now.

Now I do my penance... I rarely sleep and when I do I have dreams and night terrors- I live with ghosts who refuse to let me alone. On the other hand, God won't put more on you than you can bear, so I live with it and do my best to find truths and disclose them whatever I write about. I guess in other words, I'm one fucked up dude lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87