You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deep Dives Research | An Introduction

in #deepdives6 years ago (edited)

Great idea @v4vapid! This is right up my alley! Steemit is such a wonderful platform for exposing corruption and spreading information I think in part because of the anonymity of the authors. I'm currently trying to spread awareness about organized gangstalking, as well as what's happening in my life with CPS under the #familyprotection tag. I mostly write from my own experience, and reading your post I realized that when I do share information or statistics, I don't cite my sources often enough. It's funny you're using Julian Assange too because I just wrote about what's happening to him the other day, and didn't cite my sources. Something I definitely have to work on.

Looking forward to reading the contributions to your deep dives challenge as well! :)

Sort:  

I hope you are further encouraged not only to cite sources, but to download and archive them on the blockchain, where they are relatively secure from the ongoing scrubbing of relevant information from the net.

There are moves afoot to divest even extant archival solutions online of informative and damning material. Sources cited won't matter if those sources have been deleted. We need to preserve the actual material.

Thanks!

Great point @valued-customer, this is something that NEEDS to happen. I 100% agree that we need a blockchain based archival system where documents can be permanently preserved.

Have you heard of the new journalism blockchain on the ETH network? If you haven't it's worth checking out. It's called CIVIL.

https://joincivil.com/

It's an interesting system with approval periods, challenges, rejections and appeals. They will have a 'challenge' option where pieces can be disputed. It also costs crypto in order to challenge. I've only had time to skim over it but it does seem that there will be an 'entity' called the J.A.B. that will rule over challenges. Certainly, worth a look.

I have heard of Civil, and my impression of it is mostly dependent on it's challenge system. I am not particularly skilled at math, but saw that whoever was able to apply the largest sum would surmount the challenge.

I was not convinced that this would best deliver forthright information to folks seeking it.

Perhaps I misunderstood the mechanism. If you have a better grasp of that mechanism, and I am wrong, I'd be grateful to be disabused.

Regardless, journalism =/= information, and a robust archival solution would potentiate citizen journalists to gain and disseminate that information as they felt appropriate, without the present danger of that information being buried, purged, or otherwise made unavailable by those that might not want it to be known.

Thanks!

Like I said, I haven't had time to inspect the system thoroughly and I don't completely understand the mechanism myself either. For instances, who makes up the JAB that is suppose to rule on challenges?
I also see your point about how the biggest wallet could have undue influence across the forum, a valid concern. I'll have to take a closer look though before I make any conclusions.

For exposing corruption, it's would be best if the post is supported by legit photos to make it even more interesting and credible enough to read or people will just ignore it. I'm looking forward to communities who're brave enough to discuss about corruption issues because people should be aware of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48