DeepOnion: The Future is Coming

in #deeponion6 years ago (edited)

As I've posted earlier I'm sure that anonymous economics is the next goal that cryptocurrency should try to (and I'm sure it will) achieve in the near feature. I am very confident in my convictions, I never invest in a currency which I don't believe in, even if I think it may bring a big profit in a short term. So, a few months ago I decided to do some research and choose a currency which I'll invest in and try to support.

My final choice was DeepOnion and today would like to explain why. I'll try to be as short as possible, and won't go into too much detail, my goal is only to arouse interest in you, you'll be able to find out more on DeepOnion's official website and community forum and by doing your own research, of course (always do your own research!).

The Brief View

modern.png
DeepOnions is a pretty young cryptocurrency, mostly focused on anonymity, with a strong community and fair development team behind. It's integrated with Tor network, so all transactions are practically anonymous. Also if you take look at the roadmap, it's clear that DeepOnion's goal is not to be just a currency, it's current and upcoming features can give us much more.
Besides that DeepOnion doesn't compromise, sacrificing convenience, speed or accessibility to reach its high-level anonymity. Yes, DeepOnion in no way inferior to other cryptocurrencies and convenient for everyday use.

Team and Community

Anonymous.jpg

Nothing matters more for the success than a dedicated team and community. Founders of DeepOnion already proved their honesty by conducting a literate airdrop and bounty program instead of an ICO. If you think this a sign of scam you should check out my earlier posts (here and here). This is an irrefutable example of how can a well-thought airdrop and bounty campaign create a strong community. I'm already a member of that community for some time and I can say with confidence that it's really strong and highly active, which will undoubtedly lead to the success of DeepOnion.
P.S. It's never late to join the community and there is still time to participate in airdrop ;)

The Тechnical Side

DeepOnion uses a hybrid PoS/PoW consensus algorithm, which provides fast, cheap and at the same time secure transactions. Honestly, at first, I was confused, what means "hybrid" consensus algorithm? But all ingenious is simple... There is a PoS block mined every 60 seconds and a PoW block mined every 240 seconds. So every 5th block is mined by PoW and there are fewer chances for a single person to mine 5 blocks in a row, so there are fewer chances for a fraud.

As I mentioned earlier DeepOnion is not just a currency and DeepVault, DeepSend, VoteCentral and the most expected Stealth Addresses are just the beginning. To save your time I won't tell about each feature, for now, especially given the fact that other community members already did some reviews about each of them (have I already mentioned that we are a strong community?).

What I would like to separately note is that DeepOnion's wallet is connected with Tor by default, providing anonymity out of the box, so that average user with zero knowledge can just start using all the DeepOnion features. As a programmer, it's not a problem for me to set up a Tor connection even for Bitcoin, but I understand that usability is the main requirement to attract non-tech users and succeed as a result.

The Economics

Screenshot from 2018-02-21 03-49-50.png

Currently, there are 18,000,000 $ONIONS premined, 10,000,000 from which will be distributed to airdrop participants, 3M will be used as a reward for bounty campaign, another 3M is the development fund and there are 2M $ONIONs as a founder's reward (I think it's fair enough). Total supply of $ONIONS will be nearly 25M, so there are still 7M $ONIONs for miners.

At the moment I'm writing my post 1 $ONION worth about $4.13 according to coinmarketcap, it's all-time high was $18 (remember "December pumps"?). Currently, $ONION undervalued considering the circulating supply (~10M ONION), but considering that DeepOnion is very young, you should agree that this is a pretty good start.

Аnd since you are still reading...
Let me thank you and provide a little inside ;)
Currently, DeepOnion is listed on 2 exchanges (KuCoin and Cryptopia) and doesn't have much volume. But we've recently won a poll (remember, strong community...) to get listed on a new exchange coming this year - BitIndia. Also, DeepOnion listing requests are dominating on Cobinhood and there will be more exchanges after is finished (ohh, rules...). If you're an experienced investor, then there is no need to tell what does every new exchange listing means.


Ok, seems I couldn't speak briefly :)
Anyway, there are still much to learn about DeepOnion, so if I was able to raise some interest then check out the links from my post, also follow me, I promise to post more about DeepOnion and anonymity in general.
Thanks for attention and time you spent to read!

Sort:  

Goos read, though. Thank you very much. But in the case of us who doesnt do tor... I mean regular internet users, how can this crytocurrency be of usefulness to us?

Thanks for a good question. As I've mentioned in the article, DeepOnion in no way inferior to other cryptocurrencies, it provides cheap, fast and secure transactions due to it's hybrid PoW/PoS consensus algorithm. Also it provides much more features, it is not only a currency.
And maybe you don't realise it now, but you need to protect you privacy and anonymity, everyone needs, especially if you're envoled in crypto. DeepOnion is first of all for "regular" users, who can't reach anonymity by themselves.

Nice Article bro!! DeepOnion is a great project!!

Thanks for support :)

Is Tor really anonymous? I read somewhere that it’s more anonymous than your everyday browser but it’s still not 100%. I don’t know I might be wrong. Anyhow, sounds like a great project.

Thanks for a question. Though there is no 100% complete anonymity anywhere, Tor provides a really high level anonymity. Anyway it's pretty enough for an average user, since the costs of tracking you will be greater than the benefits obtained.
And you shouldn't confuse Tor browser with Tor network. Generally Tor browser is the same Firefox, but configured to work through Tor network by default ;)

That makes sense. Thanks

DeepOnion can't compete with an already stablish and very well rounded project like Monero

Being the original, doesn't mean being an indisputable leader. Monero is a good coin and currently I'm using it, but DeepOnion went deeper into anonymity and in the near feature it may compete. For example I had to setup Tor inegration for Monero by myself, it's not a problem for me, but I don't think non-tech users will say the same.

Great article mate. We are proud we have you in our community who keeps on making worthy contributions in deeponion.Keep up and make more worthsharing articles.

keep it up the goodwork mate

Nice article, well done :)

hey really good article and I have the pleasure to reply :) I love the fact that you mentioned the strong community a lot. Because I believe THIS is the real deal (besides all the other accomplishments by the dev team that are also great).
It's like there are more than 12k little stones that build up a whole castle for this coin. And each day it becomes bigger and bigger.

Really good writing, keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99