You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Meditation on Paradise Lost [I] -- The Detour

in #deepshit6 years ago

I do not read mobile, I have hundreds of books (somewhere around 300) currently, they live at my Grandmothers house because that is where there's space for them. A select few, however live in my bedside table, including... Hold on let me dig... Ah, there it is...


I'd love to know how old my copy is, seeing the year of print always excites me, but unfortunately it doesn't say the year of print anywhere, at least not in a way that I can recognize. I stick with print books mostly for this reason...

The notations I find are like treasure for me. A window into the lives of people from the past, gives me a feeling I couldn't possibly describe (also the smell), but I digress..

I do not personally feel like Miltons works could have used a dash of Shakespearian humor, or any other. I feel that they are so profound because they have that uninterrupted seance of gravity to them.

As you said, Shakespeare wrote for the stage, his goal was to encompass the whole spectrum of human emotion in a single piece and while that served him and his readers quite well sometimes life feels a bit more like Milton than Shakespeare.

Sometimes a certain depth needs to be probed and explored as it is without the interjection of humor to reduce its weight to appeal to at the time, "common folk" en masse.

Sort:  

Shiiiiiiit! Wow. Thank you so so much for this comment. The essay collection I talked about looks just like this. I'll probably take a pic when I get home and add to this. Its one of the few hard copies I have. Its not very easy to get the books I love here in Nigeria, so even though it fucks up my eye and can lead so fast to distraction, I'm stuck with e-books for the moment; at least until i can afford to ship a truck-load of books from overseas.

Notations are so priceless! Its like I can never borrow anybody a book of mine cos of the notations. It justs add another layer of reading to the book, and they might as well be reading me lol. And its same with others'; in libraries I see them a lot and its totally a link to the past like you said. An absolute treasure. I think I'll write about that next.

Exactly how I feel about the graveness of Samson Agonistes the depth he was trying to reach--and did reach--was too deep and profound to dilute with humor. Although I'm still figuring out if he coukd have done with more humor in his other works.

Once again thanks so much for this lovely comment. Made my day.

I'm glad you liked my comment ^.^ it always makes me happy to come across a fellow book enthusiast!

I typically browse used book stores, yard sales, and thrift stores for my treasures... But I've heard that there are a lot of online book stores, I'm sure at least one would ship to Nigeria, and I know you can find 'penny books' on Amazon, might be worth looking into!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84