You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Complaining, Disempowerment and Negative Feedback loops (Part 2)

in #deepshit6 years ago

I do this with my mother all the time. Whenever she yells at me, I say “mom I love you, but I’m nit going to pay attention to what you are saying until you calm down”. Sometimes it makes things worse for a few moments but it always leads to a de-escalation if I insist on my own vibes.

I appreciate you sharing this detail. We are coming up on Mother's Day here and all of the ads are about how gentle and loving mothers are. Not trying to say your mom doesn't love you! : ) Just that it is reassuring to hear I'm not alone in having challenges with my relationship to mine.

Sort:  

Oh...yeah...I could go on and on about the struggles I had with my well meaning parents, maybe I will one day haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87