Inspiring yourself

in #deepshit6 years ago

I’m in a super ultra inspired mood today. Nothing particularly good happened. In fact I woke up feeling pretty groggy and a bit annoyed at something I saw.

I chose not to waste my energy thinking about such things because I couldn’t do anything to change that and remembered last night how I had responded with positivity to my friends pessimism. I reread what I said and realized that even when I felt crappy I still believed it. So I wrote a post trying to express the same thing. As I wrote I found myself remembering that optimistic feeling I had had last night. It hadn’t never left, it’s always there, it just gets covered up by bullshit sometimes. Realizing that, I threw the bullshit aside and immersed myself in the positivity I was recreating from last night.

D30E97B9-8871-41C3-BCC4-FCC4A64055F4.jpeg

We don’t need to wait around for something good for us to happen, we can decide to change our mood. It takes work sometimes but it’s just like a muscle. We get better as we practice. I’m getting pretty OK at it and I want to share some methods I use.

Rereading something you wrote

This gives you immediate access to the state of mind you were in when you were writing. It doesn’t matter what tone it’s in, if it came from inspiration, you can rediscover that inspiration through enjoying your own best work. I often find that the best way for me to find inspiration for writing songs is listening to my own songs for the first time in a while.

Reading or listening to inspirational material by others

As cheesy as the name implies, I can’t count out some “self help” material. It may not be telling you something you don’t already know but filling your mind with thoughts that will help remind you whatever kind of ideas and processes will help you change for the better is always a good thing. Many things we know but we forget throughout the day until we are reminded. This can help us change our thought patterns for the better.

Reminding ourselves through forming habits.

Whether it’s through mindfulness, meditation, visualizations or associations, if we can remind ourselves of what it is we want to focus on through the the day in order to achieve something or make a change in our lives. For example, I wanted to remember to be in the moment and was doing good. Then I started getting sucked into steemit and sometimes became too distracted to be in the moment. So I created an association between steemit and being in the moment. Now every time I have that urge to check steemit I have a habit of asking myself “Are you in the moment right now? Breathe for a second and then go write”

Launch yourself from inspiration to Inspiration

When you are feeling good about what you are trying to accomplish, don’t slow down until you feel like it’s time to slow down. I wrote that article today that I felt great about and then went straight to deal with some 3D stuff, as soon as I was done, I found myself with time to spare and immediately got to writing this in order to share more of the positivity I am feeling today. I could have said “that was a productive morning” and gone to play some video games....and if that was what inspired me the most, I’d do it! But I felt I had more to say and wanted more to share something so I got right too it!

Don’t sit around and wait for things to happen, do what most inspires you, even if it’s playing games, even if it’s taking a walk, even if its staring into space. Just allow for it to open up new more exciting choices when you are ready.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" discord community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

Join Steemit Community Catalyst discord

Come join us look for ways to help minnows grow organically and create a greater sense of community on steemit. #steemitzombies , #nobidbot , the Deadpost Initiative and more project chats inside.

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-

If you like what I do and you have enough to spare, please consider becoming a patron on Patreon or sending some crypto gifts. Feel free to send me a message on discord if you need help raising your vibes or learning a language.

BTC 1HsHctHFoZucpjEY9NfE4SHUfEpCQwaDVc

​ETH 0x252c2641438709687aec16d42974fbc3952f88d8

​LTC Ldzq13WK1fTDZe9p7WvaQhqWyx8TWcweNx

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

Great points. I am actually writing a similar (but much shorter) post today. Thanks for this . We all need encouragement sometimes.

I will have to check it out! Inspire yourself and inspire each other :-)

@whatamidoing, this was just the inspiration that I needed for today. I am glad you did not go immediately to playing games and that you wrote this post. Your words were what got me going this morning. Thank you!

Ah, I love to hear this! Great! Thats exactly why I’m so busy at steemit

Some days I just feel inexplicably inspired, some days something happens and my spirit sores. Optimal conditions help. Starting working days with meditation, yoga and himalayan mountain air. ommmmmm
https://steemit.com/technology/@astralship/the-astralship-has-landed-flashmob-innovation-workshop-in-the-himalayas

What a great day to have this happen! You had me with the Planet of the Apes avec pineapple though!

I saw a pineapple and a monkey, it just seemed like the right thing to do....

man the pic here is something...lol...just had to say it.
inspiration is a hard one a feel here sometimes is hard to make good comments and make a post in the same day. am trying to make my post longer but its a struggle but it all good. nice to see all of Ur posts then. :) wow my comment was all over the place.

I don’t think posts need to be very long, as long as you manage to express what’s you want to say fully. I love short posts that really say something!

good of u the say this. a feel a bit bad sometimes most of my post are on the shorter side.

I love your creative, inspiring, positivity posts!
and have no doubt you could write a book about a theme like this one day :>)

I sometime soon feel steemit is going to end up being a practice run for some kind of “published” material or some other medium some day. We need to catch up

I sometime soon feel steemit is going to end up being a practice run for some kind of “published” material or some other medium

That's a very realistic thought. As much as I feel that Steemit is a place to network and make connections that can later really take off and lead to greater things in real life

Let's ketchup - I mean catch up - soon buddy :>)

It's interesting how the things that serve us best, are the easiest forgotten.
I love to re-read old journalings too :)
Peace.

I think one reason I didn’t like looking at the past is that I was so disempowered back then. As I spend more time putting everything into being the best I can be, I find myself finding inspiration in my new past.

@whatamidoing You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70