What does it mean when someone says, "What in Sam Hill..."

in #definitions6 years ago

Earlier this week I posted a photo of a Sundog click here to see it and @sultnpapper, one of the wonderful people I have met on Steemit, replied saying,

"What in Sam Hill is a Sundog".

I giggled, then googled to figure out what "Sam Hill" meant and I thought I'd share my delightful findings.

A possible origin for the phrase "Sam Hill" is the surveyor Samuel W. Hill (1819–1889). Hill allegedly used such foul language that his name became a euphemism for swear words.

Source

Seriously??!

Is it just me...or is this quite possibly the most bad-ass thing you could ever be remembered for?! HAHAHA!!! I wish I could meet Sam Hill and go for a pint!

Maryhill_sam.jpg

thanks for reading!
Curious about what a "Sundog" is now too?
Check out my sweet post on them here
like what you see?
head over to my blog or leave me a comment
@wander.woman <3

Photo of Sam Hill from this source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77