Lessons In Delegation From @Meno

in #delegation5 years ago

Delegation Lessons I Learned From @Meno.png

A quick backstory and why I'm putting @Meno on blast today...

I had the privilege of meetings this remarkable Steemian in Poland at last years Steemfest 3. One evening during the conference we all gathered in the 'infamous' @Ddaily mansion for some mastermind sessions and sharing our passions about the Steem blockchain.

Meno dropped a bomb on us that evening and it changed the way I thought of delegation and 'rewards' here on Steem forever.

Before that...All I was thinking about when it came to delegation and Steem Power was...

How much is my upvote going to be worth?

So today, I'm going to go over the powers of delegating to your favorite Steem project or Steemian...And this idea was spawned from the discussions we had back in November.

Meno stated this in our discussions...And I'm paraphrasing of course. But it went something like this;

"The most amazing thing about Steem Power delegation is that you are supporting passionate entrepreneurs and visionaries on this blockchain. And when you delegate freely, you get so much back in return...It's not about the upvote, it's about the freedom you have when you get behind these amazing projects...."

My takeaway from this was cemented when @theycallmedan did a video a few months later and reminded us that we have the power to become a sort of 'angel investor' here on Steem without the need of investing millions of dollars.

Think about this ...We can delegate to whoever we want, without ANY risk (because the Steem Power can be taken back at anytime) and we get to support awesome people and projects...

Heck, in some cases you can get a great ROI from your delegation in the form of Steem payments and native tokens (examples like @Steemhunt and @Actifit) I have never found a more exciting and potentially life changing investment in my time on ANY blockchain.

Steem Power truly is magical!

I know Einstein stated that compound interest is the 8th wonder of the world....I vote that Steem Power is the 9th!

Now here's where it gets....Really exciting.

Steem Power allows you to delegate to projects and people on the blockchain you support but it also increases the share of the rewards pool you can dish out every day....This is where your 'upvote' comes from.

So the more Steem Power you vest, the higher your upvote becomes. Well, that upvote starts to shrink when you start delegating to various projects and people.

Here's the solution....

Buying @BlockTrades delegation for yourself!

So let's use @ActiFit as an example....

I recently delegated 250 Steem Power to this project. I've become a huge fan of their concept and use their app every single day. Not only do I get a small upvote if I hit the 5000 steps required, but I'm rewarded in ActiFit tokens every day as well for being a delegator.

Win-Win! I get some rewards from an application I use daily and they get a boost in their Steem Power that allows them to generate more rewards for the people using their app.

But that cost me 250 Steem Power...What can I do get that back?

Option 1 - I simply buy another 250 Steem and power it up. Which isn't a bad idea, especially as Steem is hovering around 43 cents at the time of this article. So for $107.50 worth of Steem...I get my Steem Power back. Not bad at all!

Option 2 - Buying 90 days worth of delegation from @Blocktrades

How cool is this....

BlockTrades   Cryptocurrency Exchange (14).png

For around 27 Steem....I get my 250 Steem Power back for 3 months. Or about $11.61 USD.

Sure, that's not my Steem Power forever, but do you see how this is an affordable way to keep our upvotes high PLUS get all the benefits of delegating to our favorite projects?

To me it's a no brainer....Option 2 makes sense!

And getting back to the inspiration that @Meno provided, this allows me to support people and projects I like and I'm rewarded for doing so....I get to see these projects grow. I'm rewarded with their upvotes and native tokens. And to be honest, I believe I contribute to the eco-system here on Steem.

And that's what Steem is after all...It's people helping people. It's community. And it's a great way for all of us to grow together!

P.S. If you are not yet doing so, be sure to follow @Meno and all the amazing work he does with the @Helpie community. I appreciate you man, thanks for helping me see the true potential of Steem Power and delegation here on the blockchain!

D0c5pW7U8AEzqmp.jpeg

Sort:  

@Meno should run Steemit.inc

one of the smartest guys i’ve ever met. and he ‘gets’ community for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

i also like option 2; Buying 90 days worth of delegation from @Blocktrades. but my question is how do i get back my steem after 90 delegation days. i mean should i request for refund or is there a system

nah you don’t get it back. so my idea is to curate and be as active as you can during those 90 days. that will help you recoup it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great article as always. Do you have any ROI on leased delegation.

Posted using Partiko Android

i have been tracking things for a while now. things look good. been wanting to get a years worth of stats before judging how it’s going.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This blog truly changes my mind on steem power delegation I thinking buying steem to boost my upvote value but now I have another option Why shouldn’t I take a steem power on lease from blocktrade I get more steem power.
Thanks for this great information.

Posted using Partiko iOS

glad you enjoyed it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am about 300+ SP, but I delegate already to several projects. My delegations are small, but I want to give something back to this community. I got delegations and still have them. As you mentioned it's a great opportunity of this blockchain.

oh for sure. i think a stone goes on all of our delegations will increase. i know i plan on shaking things up myself soon :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good thoughts! As soon as I reach dolphin status I’m planning to delegate still more following your advice!

Posted using Partiko iOS

nothing stopping from
delegating now. i only had 300 sp when i started my journey :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have mentioned this to me in chat some time ago and I have started to do this on a small scale so far. I am planning to increase this as my account grows.

Posted using Partiko iOS

absolutely man. that’s how it starts. and slowly starts to build momentum over time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely yet another way the protocol demonstrates the flexibility it has for its holders! I had not thought about purchasing delegated SP as I am buying every month to mostly power up but I think that it is a great option once I hit the point I will no longer buy any more Steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah i mean to be honest. i do both lol

but then again i’m addicted to these silly little tokens. i wanna collect them all lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I found option 2 more affordable and I would add that you can also lease SP through @minnowbooster

It is curious that I have just read few articles about Actifit BEFORE reading your post... It looks that we think at same frequencies... :)

Thanks for this post!

for sure. yeah their project is life changing for so many. heck even i’ve become active because of it lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

do you know the minimum delegation requirement for steemhunt to earn the 20% apr?

hmmm. not sure about a minimum i’d have to look to see.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemhunt is so big now that I am not sure if a small delegation of like 25 SP will earn anything

it all adds up. you start at 25 and then it grows to 50. and then to 75 etc.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00