You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegation Committee First Communication

in #delegationapp5 years ago

With this fee it makes delegation akin to gambling. Where else do you put in money for a service, and you may get something back or not?

It's gambling pure and simple, pay 40 sbd and you could end up with nothing. Oh well try again, oops, nothing again.

It just doesn't seem fair to me. Or perhaps I'm reading this wrong?

Cg

Sort:  

Applications fees are common for all sorts of applications. No, I don't agree that is "gambling" as that term is generally used, although sure all businesses have risks.

Hi @smooth,

Thank you for your answer, I appreciate it as I'm sure you have answered lots of people on this post.

If you don't mind indulging me for another couple of questions/points.

Firstly, I can't think of what applications charge a fee to request to join, and then perhaps turn you down and keep your funds, can you give an example where this is the case please?

Like you said, all businesses have risks, and by me calling it gambling I am in no way trying to be condescending. I'm just pointing out that if you pay money to maybe get delegation, then that is like making a bet which may or may not pay off.

Of course you could say that any investment is like that, however if I buy shares today, they may lose 10 or 20% of their value tomorrow, but at least I can cash out.

Any bet that threatens to take 100% of my money immediately, or pay me back X% is a very high risk bet.

PS: I'd like to say that since I made this comment, @starkerz has made me aware that the 100SBD would only be for old projects trying to renew delegations and that new delegation application fees will be significantly lower.

Cg

Examples of application fees where you pay a fee without any guarantee of acceptance off the top of my head are college applications and applications for renting an apartment. I'm sure there are others.

Sure, as an individual you can often cash out an "investment" but this is not the case for a business. If you invest in developing and/or producing a product and no one buys it you can't just "cash out".

Point taken about "gambling" being more descriptive of the effect, I don't necessarily disagree.

Examples of application fees where you pay a fee without any guarantee of acceptance off the top of my head are college applications and applications for renting an apartment. I'm sure there are others.

This is obviously a cultural thing. In England we do not pay to apply for things, especially universities whereby they are charging you to go there.

Sure, as an individual you can often cash out an "investment" but this is not the case for a business. If you invest in developing and/or producing a product and no one buys it you can't just "cash out".

Very true, however I don't see the analogous link here.

I'd prefer to see a deposit that was returned if you weren't successful, if you are then it is burned to Null.

Thanks again for your time in answering my questions. Much appreciated!

Cg

This is obviously a cultural thing. In England we do not pay to apply for things

Okay here is another example from your own culture. UK charges a non-refundable application fee for visa applications.

Aha touche! You got me there :-) Kind of... lol

The difference with a Visa app, is that it is an official document pertaining to immigration, and as such all countries charge for those.

As far as I'm aware in the UK there is no comparable example whereby you have to pay to apply for something within the private or even public sector. If you apply for a job, grant, loan, university it is all free, any fees you may incur come after your successful application.

I look forward to you proving me wrong again though! :-)

Cg

I'm not going to search for it. Maybe there is, maybe there isn't. I'm sure your original point about it varying in different cultures is true. I do know that if I were volunteering to evaluate potentially-complicated applications for something, particularly something where the applicant clearly has something of obvious value to gain, and a lot of people with low-quality applications might just take a shot because why not, I'd want some sort of fee attached to it, but that's just me.

I get it, and the last thing you want is to get multi-spammed after all those delegations have to be looked at one by one and the team is not massive...

It's been great having this little chat, and I have been somewhat swayed as to the need for an application fee, just a smaller one is all.

We've had little disagreements in the past, but I've always found you fair and unlike some in your position, you are open to debate and different points of view from your own.

Always refreshing!

...and thanks for the non-ghosting vote, I am embroiled in the #butthurtwars at the mo. Just a bit of fun, standing up to a bully :-)

Anyway thanks again and can't wait to lock horns again! :-D

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83