Dental Work In Mexico...... What you need to know.

in #dentist6 years ago


Cheap Dental Work in Mexico

Hello All
This post is to help you decide if you should go to Mexico for dental work. I did and it turned out GREAT.

Now before I get into all of the details, I must do the legal thing and say: You use this information at your own risk. I am just giving you the details of my dental vacation. I am to be held harmless for your actions.

Done with that.

First the background of WHY.
I recently quit my / steady pay check / steady dental insurance / steady pain in the ass / steady trading money for life / not time for family / night job. NO I am not mooching off of the government. I created a property management company 9 years ago and have been working two jobs for 17 years. I had built up the business enough to be able to jump off of the steady cliff of a JOB and survive for over a year now. BUT no dental insurance. I have been having major tooth pain for about a month. Then I went to a local dentist for $40 to get x-rays and an exam. Turns out I had an abscess tooth, needed a root canal, and FOUR CROWNS. Total cost with no dental insurance was going to be $7,160.00 That is the WHY in this story about dental work in Mexico.

Second is HOW I decided on where to go.
I live in the norther part of AZ. Many people that I know have heard of someone or know someone that has had dental work done in Mexico. They drove south for about 4-6 hours to Los Algodones . Nope I cant drive 10 min without dozing off behind the wheel. And no flights from my tiny airport to the city across the border in AZ. Also none from Las Vegas. Next best place is Tijuana. I know gasp.... ooow... ahhh... Round Trip Air from Las Vegas to San Diego with only 2 weeks lead time was just $99. Way better than a 5 hour drive both ways. I did a bunch of research. Found the best dentist I could with the most positive reviews that did not seem fake, and started planing my trip. Decided to only get the root canal and 2 crowns at first so that way if it went bad, I did not waste all of my money. If it goes good I would just go back at a different time to finish the rest.

Third pick and choose my TRIP
This was going to be a bunch of firsts for me. First time to Mexico. First time to get a passport, First time getting this much dental work done at one time, and first time not having dental insurance. I decided that I did not want to go alone in case someone stole my kidneys and I needed help getting an Uber. Ha Ha joke for all of my friends that tried to discourage me. My wife had to stay and handle the property management business. Thank you honey for all that you do. So I took my 20 year old man child with me. Had to get both of us Passport Cards. We decided to drive to Vegas 90 min. Fly to San Diego $99 round trip per person. Stay in a 3 Star hotel near the bay in San Diego off 24th street for 3 days and 2 nights. Take public transportation and Uber when needed. Eat good food and figure out the rest.

Forth total SAVINGS for my dental vacation.
2X Passport cards $280
2X Round Trip plane tickets $209
Hotel 3 days/2 nights $146
Great food $168
Local transportation including UBER $63
Valet Las Vegas Airport (Running Late) $51
Tour of the US Midway Museum $38
Dental Work $1390
TOTAL $2,345

2X crowns, root canal, cleaning, a filling and 2x core build up would have been $4,570.00 at home in AZ. That is a SAVINGS of $2,225.00 and I got a vacation out of it. Lots of pictures, laughs, excitement and more plus great dental work from an awesome team at Advanced Smiles Dentistry. Top notch. All of the exciting details of the trip in a later post.

Thank you for your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69