My Intro Post NivekPro

in #depaiso5 years ago

Me at RJR Sports Awards.jpg

Who am I? Well I am a guy who grew up in Jamaica fascinated by the world. I grew up with two amazing younger brothers. One knew how to look at life and get the best out of it. That's @Depaiso and the other is just a genius in his own right. My parents were both accountants by profession, my mom is a retired sage and my dad teaches. Both are musically talented, both are entrepreneurs but I think @Depaiso is the biggest entrepreneur of them all. Always finding opportunities in any corner of the world.

I discovered who I was at 30. A Computer Science geek who didn’t like computer science. I loved art. Specifically Film and Animation. What was I going to tell mom and dad? That I am choosing to be poor?
Well, I’m not poor. I’m not rich yet either but I am making a living with film and animation in a third world country in the Caribbean. JAMAICA! JAMAICA!

I was introduced to Steemit by my brother Dean. @Depaiso. He said I should talk about my passions through Steemit. Well I love what I do and I love sharing it.

My parents always tell guests stories of me watching TV as a baby and it was the only way to shut me up. I also heard stories that I started drawing at an early age and I used to make my own comics in high school. Somewhere in life, around high school or there about I gave up my dream of becoming a comic book artist and pursued the sciences. I really enjoyed Chemistry, Biology and Physics, particularly electronics.

Somehow after majoring in electronics I shifted to computer science and ended up in a career programming and doing database management for 15 years. The pay was a struggle. I tried to climb the ladder as an IT manager but I hated the life of corporate politics, so at age 27 the calling for film came at me strong. I spent some time on some film sets and I felt free, I felt useful, I felt for once in my life that I had the potential to be great at something. I made up my mind, transition to film and animation significantly by 30 or climb the corporate ladder.

Thankfully, in the long run I became both an animator and filmmaker winning several awards for my short films and partnering with to up and coming studios. Today I have become an authority on film and animation in Jamaica and it has open many opportunities.
I want to share what happens in my country where film and animation are concerned because the industry is currently emerging. It would be the perfect time to capture it as it unfolds.

Here is a link to my website portfolio and my linked in
https://www.nivekfilms.com/animations.html
https://www.linkedin.com/in/kevin-jackson-animator/

Beyond animation and film I love martial arts. I have been fascinated with Bruce Lee from 3 years old. Named my first dog Bruce Lee and started martial arts at 11 doing Shotokan then at 14 I did Tae Kwon Do. At 23 I did Kung Fu then MMA and now I really enjoy Kickboxing and BJJ.

I used to love motorsports. I have competed in drag racing, circuit racing, autocross and go karting.

I have amassed several trophies over the years. Many in martial arts, one in racing though I came close to winning 3. I have won several awards for my films and animations. Sometimes I think I am addicted to trophies. I really just want to know when I am doing a good job.

These days with old injuries martial arts has taken a backseat except for some fight choreography that I do. I am however trying to get back in the gym to get back in shape.

I will be making posts about anything at all that I love. Mostly film and animation because that is my life now. I hope you enjoy

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Welcome to the Steemiverse. I found out about your via your brother @dmilliz aka @depaiso on Twitter. Enjoy your time here. And you are so talented in so many things, we will foresee awesome posts from you. :)

Thank you so much for welcoming my bro ;) I truly appreciate it❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should check out my post called Roast Fish, Wine and wine and movies. You can I am not sure how to share it.


Welcome to Steemit @nivekpro!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thank you so much. I am looking forward to my steemit journey.

Welcome here @nivekpro don't panic and stay tune

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome bro ! My handle is DMilliz though lol! All the best on steem and I shall guide you along the way bro! Everyone this is my older brother IN REAL LIFE !!!!! ✨💯

Posted using Partiko iOS

Warm welcome from Steemit! Have a great journey here😉

Welcome to STEEM! As you consider your journey on engaging throughout the ecosystem, I would like to introduce you to @partiko as a great alternative. I have been honored to be selected to become a #partiko-mentor to new users just getting started. @partiko is a great app that you can download for Android or
iOS and allows you to directly interface with the STEEM blockchain while on the go. I have been using it for a number of months and it has been a great experience because of the great community that is being created there. If you download, you will be able to immediately earn 3,000 Partiko points to use on valuable upvotes to attract more attention to your posts! They are many ways to earn more points very easily just by actively engaging across the ecosystem. In addition, the @partiko account will provide you Steem Power delegation for joining the community so that you can have enough bandwidth to actively engage freely. This is a great opportunity to get your STEEM journey started immediately. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions on @partiko or anything in general.

Posted using Partiko iOS

OK I will definitely check it out. I will Thanks.

Thanks @dmillz recommended the same program. I will have to check it out.

Here is some more important information to consider on your journey:

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have recently ran into a great post by @roleerob that is great to get off to a great start here on the ecosystem. As I continue to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey. Another great user creating content for new Steemians is @paulag who is creating community backed video series on learning to navigate STEEM.

As you decide how to engage on the platform, there are a number of decentralized applications or Dapps that can be used to interface with the blockchain directly other that Steemit.com. For example, additional web-based interfaces to consider are @busy.org and @steempeak which offer attractive features to interact with the various communities around the ecosystem. For your mobile needs, I have enjoyed the use the @partiko mobile app available for both Android and iOS. The are also offering delegation of Steem Power for downloading and using the app. The communities surrounding these interfaces are growing fast as they are providing great ways to engage on the blockchain.

The #STEEM ecosystem continues to grow with the addition and development of many Dapps that are providing great ways to engage in the ecosystem. A great place to view some of these Dapps is the web site from @stateofthedapps which have a ranking of the top Dapps on the blockchain. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem.

I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome nivekpro!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75