You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing myself. Part two: the Dark Sketchbook

in #depression6 years ago

Very cool drawings :-)
Do you find that creatively outlasting your feelings in this way lifts you up from the depression itself?
I would say, as someone who writes mainly about mental health issues that my writing itself keeps me calm when I have severe anxiety issues going on and something about that raw connection with what you create, its like a little cocoon away from the world and all its madness.

Upvoted and Followed :-)

Sort:  

Thank you! My experience is a bit different, I can not use my art as my "happy place", because my art is part of the problem. Because of my insecurities an that feeling of worthlessness I can not even think about making art during my depressive episodes. I told my brain I'm doing research. And that's what I do, trying to document that state of mind, to put those raw feelings on the paper. You can see the rough sketches, they are from the darkest days. The detailed ones are usually made after the storm is over, just looking back at the whole episode, or during the good days when I'm trying to keep the shadows away. Everything happens in my head, so going out in the world and taking long walks has proved to be quite helpful. But what really keeps me from falling too deep is the fact that my family needs me, so I need to be there and to be well for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94