You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom from Mental Illness - Can We Win?

in #depression6 years ago

Nice post @georgemason, I understand what you are going through to some degree. I've had people in my life who have battled with this and I know how it can be a day-day struggle.

I don't know that I'm the best resource in this situation, I do know that psychaddelic use for depression/PTSD is being studied and has been studied and shown to have a very positive effect, but in the states they aren't really legal, and it definitely depends on medications and the setting you do them in. I personally took a trip to south america to work with a shaman, which I found very beneficial.

There are a few other things that might help, like diet, exercise, nature, and internal work. Not fighting, but addressing the issues. But I really don't know your personal situation so please take my advice with a grain of salt.

Sort:  

Hey :-) Thanks a lot for reading my post and for commenting too :-)

Yes that is very interesting I have actually read about this too, it is a very interesting concept to get to the subconscious mind, especially with something so deep rooted as PTSD, that is cool you did work with a Shaman, what did that involve if you don't mind me asking? Was it for anxiety type issues too?
There are so many non mainstream people, especially from tribal culture that understand this reality and world far greater than we do, mainstream doctors know so little and they are too arrogant to truly understand the nature of everything as they believe they know everything.

Thanks for the ideas and advice, I appreciate that, I am actually working very heavily on getting to a very healthy raw food type diet and this seems to have made some difference with other health issues too, I have always been terrible at exercise, mainly because of my anxiety in getting outside the house, but I need to improve this as in the past the effects on mental health have been fairly clear, I think this itself is a highly overlooked issue that doctors do not take seriously.

Do these sorts of things help you?

Thanks for all your comments :-)
Upvoted and Followed my friend :-)

I think anxiety issues can be relieved, there was an application process so he could make sure the ceremony and substance would be right for each individual, because there are certain mental health issues that can pose problems when taking the substances.

I stayed at a sanctuary in the Amazon rainforest for about a week, we had 3 ceremonies with Huachuma, which I think is mescaline based. There was Ayahuasca the week before, which I missed. At the end of the third ceremony we used Vilca as well. Basically these medicines work within us to relieve some of the issues we've built up. Ayahuasca is supposed to be quite healing, but can be very uncomfortable during for some people. It is taken in a dim lit room, while Huachuma is quite gentle, we were out interacting with different tribes and doing things. It's similar to muchrooms in some ways. MDMA I haven't tried, but it has clinical studies being done.

I'd suggest looking into it, I feel like psychedelics are some of the most healing substances available to us. Check out reset.me for more info, spiritquest sanctuary is where I went.

I've found relief from diet, exercise, and nature in a big way. They are my go-to's, though I need to improve on how much I was doing last year.

That sounds really interesting, people really need to look at these alternatives much more than the standard treatment route, have you had much luck with supplements? Vitamin D seems to be a huge one for mental health.

I personally take Vitamin D, a greens supplement(I use amazing grass,) a collagen protein, and then just take "superfood" supplements like maca, chia, matcha, etc. I'm the biggest believer in medicinal mushrooms. I've taken Lion's Mane, Reishi, & Cordyceps and always felt great on them. I'd suggest looking into Paul Stamets work on mushrooms, I truly think they have the power to save the world, really fascinating organisms

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71