risks (and quotes)

in #depression6 years ago

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” ― Anais Nin

This is one of my favourite quotes and seems so aptly appropriate of late. I have been stupidly playing the what if game. One that I know has no winners and only losers. As I think about how, when, where or why I have depression etc I wonder sometimes what difference it makes. I like to understand things but sometimes I am not sure this is a good thing. After watching the video about BPD and it's traits it helped me but it also made me hyper-aware of several things. I started to feel stuck within my own head again.
So when trying to be completely honest to myself I have to be honest with others. Telling someone how I feel about them is absolutely terrifying. As @ratticus said it is part of the deal with love. I know that loving someone opens myself up to being hurt. Regardless of if I tell the person how I feel about them or not once I have let them into my heart then I have exposed myself to the potential of both being loved and being hurt.
I have run away so many times before from these situations. Better that I leave before they leave me right? But then all I can think of is "A life lived in fear is a life half lived" (from strictly ballroom but probably has older origins).
A pattern of taking risks and being hurt so deeply is all I see. Too many names of people I can list who I let close and then they walked away for reasons sometimes I don't even know. Now I'm stuck being scared for caring too deeply if that is even possible.
I really hope I don't regret taking this risk again because I don't think I could handle another heartbreak.

I'm Getting Too Old For This Shit - Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover, Lethal Weapon)

Sort:  

Congratulations @kintsukuroi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66