Transcending Depression

in #depression6 years ago

This is about winning the fight against the black dog of depression.
Powerful lapsteel slide guitar blues with a Bowie-esque progressive psychedelic edge.

I had to write a song about my stint with depression and how I summoned the warrior within me to accept it, to fight it and to overcome it.
So this song is about hope.

Transcending-Depression-Nathan-lap-0875-wide-02.jpg
This is a MUSICOIN link. A great new music crypto platform that pays musicians fairly.

50% of tips of this song go to @preventsuicide Prevent-Suicide-logo-1.jpg

If you want to support this song and cause more please consider buying it from here: https://nathankaye.bandcamp.com/track/transcending-depression


LYRICS
Transcending Depression

A1:
Depression, you will never defeat me,
‘Though you may sometimes beat me down,
And you often mistreat me,
You will never complete me.

A2:
Depression,
Your like tinnitus ringing in my ears,
Sometimes you are all I can hear,
Sometimes you got me frozen in fear,
But this is my life I can steer.

A3:
Depression,
You prey upon the tired and meek,
You turn a strong man to wired and weak,
You are not what I desire or seek,
Life is never so bleak.

B:
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

A4:
Depression,
Your time has come to an end,
May excuses for you I can no longer defend,
You made me feel like I had no friends,
You can’t break me because I can bend,
You are the thing I transcend
You are the thing I transcend.

B:
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Transcending depression…

Transcending depression…

credits
from the Waves of Life album, released October 25, 2016

All vocals, lapsteel slide guitar, 5 string bass, organ, electronic foot-drum kit, extra drum programming & fx samples - Nathan Kaye

Written, performed, recorded, produced and mixed by Nathan Kaye at Dreamseeds Sound Design Studio

© 2016 Nathan Kaye
all rights reserved


If you have blog posts that is about helping people survive depression, anxiety and/or suicide, please send me a message on the Prevent Suicide discord channel
Prevent-Suicide-discord-logo-2.jpg


Please make sure you vote for @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @followbtcnews, @aggroed as witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses . These beautiful beings do lotsa good.


Thanks so much for commenting below
(because I'm hoping you're about to ).
If you felt the vibe of this article, or it's helped you shift perspective,
please do click upvote, click resteem, click follow and comment.
Let's connect, be friends!
I'd really love to hear from you.

I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…

Also, I'm a proud helpinaut!
Visit @helpie to find out what that means and
to find out if you'd be a proper fit for our discord group!
Helping is the #1 goal!




Mental advisory Conscious lyrics (3.5cm).jpg

Nathan-Kaye-Steemit-Banner-01.jpg

Sort:  

You have such a way about you, Nathan. There are whispers of healing stitched into the walls of your music that can't be ever missed. Your passion for helping those people who are suffering from depression and mental illnesses is so admirable, and I hope you realize how truly inspiring you are. Aaand your music. Much respect and love to you, my friend. Love love love. ❤️

Thanks so much @paintingangels Serena!
Your always so generous with your compliments which makes people, like lil ol' me, feel wonderful, but not only that you shine a light for all to see what a gift it is to be so giving on a daily basis, like you do.
Thank you for that.
With this mission, I just reached a point where I was over having loved ones take their own lives. It made me feel powerless that I couldn't help them, especially my best friend Everen, the most recent suicide.
But I'm not powerless to help. None of us are. We can reach out in myriads of ways to help everyone in our communities.
We all deserve to feel loved and that our lives are important in the world because everyone is vital. Everyone has a soul purpose.
Nobody can realise and live their soul purpose if they're no longer here.
Anyway, you know I can rant for hours about this, but I don't feel like I am anyone special, in that, we can all be inspirational (and, in fact, we all are inspirational to someone)...
And I'm honoured that you like my music too... That's very important to me on a personal level...
Blessings,
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thanks mate for another great song.

I like how you invoke the warrior in you to fight depression.

A lot of us are having such a difficult time fighting it and often feel alone and without strength.

Seeing people like you sharing themselves and how they overcame it is always motivating.

Thanks Nathan!

Thank you so much @maverickinvictus!
You totally get it. It is in the expression of this of kind of experience that anyone else suffering can realise that, not only are they not alone in this emotion they are feeling, but that others have survived and come through the other end in their unique way, which means they too can survive and find happiness themselves. It creates solidarity and unity.
There is incredible power and strength in allowing oneself to be vulnerable enough to communicate how they're feeling inside. So even when we feel weak, we can find strength through the process of communication.
I'm honured this song touched you.
Blessings mate

Most days are I am not okay and Steemit really helps and finding you and hearing your songs and lyrics make me hopeful that thinks will be okay and if not it is okay not to be okay.

I am not alone we are all in this together.

Thank you for bravely sharing your heart and also for your love of my songs too, as that affects me deeply on a personal level to hear that.
We are all in this together...
Blessings mate
in joy
Nathan
NK

You're a very strong and admirable man Nathan, thank you for using your gifts to try and bring love and lightness to those around you ♡

Thanks so much @amymya!
The biggest strength I found was through permitting myself to be vulnerable enough to share what's inside and I hope that by doing so, others find the strength to do so too.
Without the dark, negative troughs it is harder to truly appreciate and be grateful for the radiant highs that life inevitably brings to us. 🙏🏽

Touched me again, friend :-) Since the first time I heard you sing, I was blown away by the lyrics especially, but some of them just work on a more spiritual level, this is certainly one of them; like the music opens up the soul so to make room for all the compassion in your words.

Gonna resteem this too: music, lyrics and charity in perfect harmony here :-)

Thanks again, @nathankaye! <3 :-)

Thank you so much, @zyx066! That means a lot.
It's one of those topics that art must be made about and for, but there is a thin line to balance on with treating this issue so as to not add further to the problem by being either too overzealously positive, which can be rather insensitive, nor being too resigned to acceptance, as if nothing can be done to cure the mental dis-ease, which seems to be a common 'victimhood' like excuse often spouted these days.
I'm hoping I somehow struck a balance between acceptance and hope so that people can find their way to begin the healing and rebuilding process in their lives.
Blessings to you mate

Yeah this is really emotional. I can connect almost fully with this, music helped me get out of my set of shit some time before.
This one "You turn a strong man to wired and weak" hits hard

Thanks so much, mate, @that.bass.guy!
I'm honoured this touched you.
Yeah, music is a healer, bro...

Np ^^
Music is life. <3

"My excuses for you I can no longer defend" Yes, well put.

Thanks, good message! I currently know this battle all too well.

That's a key line right there. Interesting that you picked that one out. That's the move of empowerment.
I hope your battle eases quickly and just becomes a part of the history that contributed to your happiness.
Blessings
in joy
Nathan
NK

A key line indeed, that is why I picked it out brother.

Thanks for your good wishes. On the positive side, I do see it as growth, even when we feel we're frighteningly freefalling in reverse for a while ....................... now where on earth is that fucking parachute? 😉

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Wow! Thanks so much @meno! Much love bruthaman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99