Death Let Me Go

in #depression6 years ago (edited)


I never knew death

but depression taught me

the beauty of death. 

Sweet lies it was;

a false hope of serenity.


I called the hands of death

to hold me gently that night. 

Pills and pills to numb the pain;

to drift away into that slumber,

the final slumber of death. 


Death came to me;

She stared at me.

I gave a longing look,

She grasped my neck

with hands that held terror


She looked into my soul

But saw a new life 

All night I begged

to take the sadness; 

to take away the pain. 


Mama called me,

said it was a new day;

said she prayed for me. 

Death heard her cry 

and let me Live. 


Had a brush with a failed suicidal attempt some time ago. Was a wake up call for me. Glad I'm alive! 

A Steemit Original by E C Stanley 

Sort:  

My Congratulations and thank you for taking a break from everyday worries. Poetry arises from a particular sensitivity and from the need to express in a personal way, its relation to the world and to itself in the form of words that purify the soul.

Great writing I am honored @margaretwise

poetry-01.png

https://steemit.com/poemchallenge/@margaretwise/poemchallenge-results-by-margaretwise-poetry-is-a-mystery-and-like-every-mystery-we-try-to-explore-it-thank-you

Thank you very much. I'm looking forward to the next contest

Glad you're still alive. Depression sucks. When it gets dark, it really gets dark. Can't say anything about the sun rising and happy endings myself.

Thanks. I think sometimes you have to will yourself into that brightness of life maybe not literally but from taking steps to make your life better starting with simple things.

Simple things. Most definitely. Baby steps back to the light :)

Great poem. Depression is a serious disease that can make one take his life. I’m glad you’re life. Enjoy life to the fullest.

Thanks for reading!

You are an amazing human being and so brave for putting this out there. I'm glad death let you go so that we may all know your friendship. 😊💗

Thanks a lot for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43