How I Got Rid Of My Depression

in #depression7 years ago

So, depression started pretty early for me.

I always knew something wasn't right during my middle school years, but didn't know what to called it. Hell I didn't even know how to explain what I was feeling back in middle school. It become bad when high school hit. My freshman year was what I consider the worst year of my life. I already didn't know how to explain what I was feeling, and why my motivation to do things just went down hill. I later went to a therapist trying to find answers, and she told me I had serious depression. I was put on tons of anti-depression pills over the next 2 years, but honestly they didn't help.

So, here's a few things I did to get rid of my depression.

The first thing I did was I found new interests. It was hard because the motivation wasn't there, but when I finally did find new interests, it was like the ultimate anti-depression pill. My motivation went back up to pursue my new found interests.

I also forced myself to be a bit more social. Being more social helped so much. I found loyal friends who I can talk to anything about. And that really helped get rid of all the unknown emotions I was holding in.

I got a dog... I know it may sound weird, but when I got my dog named Bella, I would take her on walks, talk to her, and playing with my dog made me forget about all those negative thoughts in my head.

Those were just a few things I did, and I would recommend trying at least one of these. Maybe not the dog one because that could be a little expensive haha.

Reply back with your own advice you'd give to someone with depression :)
You never know who's reading, they may be going through a rough time.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day :)

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

This is how I got rid of mine

Bro. thanks for sharing this. Welcome to Steemian Forest!
Things are going to be alright:):)
Bro. used this following hastags #life#blog #motivation etc.
You can find this on the right side >>so more people can read your post.

Thanks for the advice :) I'll use those hashtags more often

yeah it depends on the topic, you can find it on the right side of your screen. I also didnt know those thing before just sharing it with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81