The Oldest Desert in the WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #desert6 years ago

 The Namib is a coastal desert in southern Africa. The name Namib is of Nama origin and means "vast place". According to the broadest definition, the Namib stretches for more than 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) along the Atlantic coasts of Angola, Namibia, and South Africa, extending southward from the Carunjamba River in Angola, through Namibia and to the Olifants River in Western Cape, South Africa.The Namib's northernmost portion, which extends 450 kilometres (280 mi) from the Angola-Namibia border, is known as Moçâmedes Desert, while its southern portion approaches the neighboring Kalahari Desert. From the Atlantic coast eastward, the Namib gradually ascends in elevation, reaching up to 200 kilometres (120 mi) inland to the foot of the Great Escarpment.Annual precipitation ranges from 2 millimetres (0.079 in) in the most arid regions to 200 millimetres (7.9 in) at the escarpment, making the Namib the only true desert in southern Africa.Having endured arid or semi-arid conditions for roughly 55–80 million years, the Namib may be the oldest desert in the world and contains some of the world's driest regions, with only western South America's Atacama Desert to challenge it for age and aridity benchmarks. 

Sort:  

you're making steemit a great community with your content bouzidi! keep it up!

can you help me to vote my blog

welcom miss tania

Hey great and very detailed article. I followed you, would like to read more of your content! Have a nice day!

thank you, Kindness Makes You Happy… and Happiness Makes You Kind

why did your reputation get all the way down to 8? Did you do something wrong?

yes it's it,
At first, I did not know much laws

do you want to get it fixed? I will help you to get back to health and going strong if you want to learn.

This is kind of you, if you can, I need help

if you will notice I got your last post an upvote on steemgigs. we will talk more about it when you get there. Its easy to do and then just let me know when you are on there.

I have trouble with link not working

try this link it is: https://discord.gg/5NcAVP

let me know if you get on there and I will send you an friend request so we can Direct Message and I can get you going again.

ok I will help you. are you on discord yet? If not, sign up through this link, its free... https://discord.gg/6sfruy and connect to me ilovepoorpeople#2616

Its easier to talk to you in Direct Message

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81