Why Do Architects and Builders Have A Disconnect???

in #design6 years ago

Ge7BFmf.jpg

I've worked as an Architectural Designer for almost 11 years now, a builder before that. Several people have asked me, "what's the difference between what you do and an Architect?" Usually I reply, "just the paper in the frame on the wall". Other times I say "I'm less of an asshole". Either way, there's very little difference as far as drafting and design. An architect will have more flexibility in construction control of projects and the ability to put an Architect stamp on a plan.

I don't think of myself so much as a builder anymore, but a designer. And unlike many other designers, draftsmen, engineers and architects, very few have actually worked in the field. By that I mean swing a hammer or step on a shovel. Because of this experience gap a lot of designers live in a 2D fantasy world. I like the term where the rubber meets the road. The paper designs don't always meet up to the the reality of building techniques and materials.

image_7.png

This is not true of every design or every architect. I'm not painting with that broad of a brush! However, I've witnessed many verbal debates between a general contractor or builder and the designer. Usually it all boils down to a few things, poor design, incorrect drawing, lack of documentation, cost or implementation. Yet, there is one more issue which will probably always be the one that stands out to me and that is EGO.

I believe that besides lack of a designer having field experience or a builder having design experience, a swollen ego on both sides prevents the much needed communication to avoid major problems and allow builds to go smoothly. Nobody wants to be wrong, admit a mistake, or for that matter pay for one. Building can be a high stress environment with budget, timelines, customers, etc, and tempers can flair.

My wife's grandfather worked his entire career as a plumber. Before operating his own business he worked for a few outfits. On one particular job the blueprints called for a vent stack to run right through a window opening. He voiced the issue with the contractor. This was clearly an issue. The builder screamed back, "if that's where the plans call for it that's where it goes!". A little dumbfounded, that's where the vent stack was put. When the architect finally showed up to the job site a colossal exchange of words commenced. You see the builder knew it was wrong, but had to puff his chest out and get in the architect's shorts. The architect had made a poor decision by not consulting with the other tradesmen. Neither wanted to admit fault. However, in this instance the builder only needed to make the decision to run the pipe elsewhere or call the architect. He did not want to communicate, he wanted to cast blame. This example highlights that without a team mentality, mistakes that cost time and money can happen.

I could write page after page of this played out over and over, but the end result will always be the same. This field remains one where chest pounding, name calling and blaming others still happen.

So what's the solution??? Not all situations are the same but off the top of my head and from my own experience I could suggest that designing a home and the construction of it are looked at as a team effort! Very often I am asked, "what's the best way to heat this house, or can you do a lighting plan?" My answer is always the same...get your contractor and subcontractors on board as soon as possible! And by that I mean during the design phase, not after it's built. If an HVAC contractor needs a chase to the second floor, I can design around that now, not once its built. If a plumber needs a wall moved a foot so the trap below doesn't hit a girder, we can plan for that now. Not to say decisions aren't made in the field, because they are constantly, but better communication up front, with as as much input from the men and women building the home will save many headaches. Not to mention the homeowner will be much more satisfied and confident with the team they have assembled.

TEST.jpg

This is not the only solution, but I think that by opening up a dialog about it projects can run much smoother in the future. Less headaches, callbacks, unforeseen costs and arguments should be on everybody's wish list.

Thanks for reading!
Don't forget to check out my company's website below!
Casey

www.postandbeam.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66671.81
ETH 3087.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68