DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - WEEK 6 - SHAPE CHALLENGE (ENTRY)

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

COVER DESIGN A CHARSHAPE 6 copy.jpg

This is my entry post for @w0olf's Shape Challenge Contest

Medium: Digital Art (Photoshop CS6)

Sketching:

I didn't really know what to draw at first. As soon as I started to sketch the first empty shape, it was like putting together pieces of a picture puzzle. A smug rhino came out of it. At that point I just decided, "I'm drawing animals for the next two shapes!". Then a proud rooster came out, followed by a silly croc.

1.jpg

Inking:

I made a few changes from the original idea of my rough sketch. The most obvious part was the rooster head. You can see the changes that I made in the picture above ↑ and below ↓. This often happens when you work your inking onto a loose sketch like this.

2.jpg

When the inking process is done, I hid my sketch layer to reveal my final line drawing.

3.jpg

Coloring:

I silhouetted each drawings with three different flat colors as the base for the next step of the process.

4.jpg

Applied color details + light and dark values onto the color silhouttes.

5.jpg

Colored the outlines to lighten the harshness of my thick ink and my work is done! :)

6.jpg

This is such a good exercise to hone your drawing skill especially in character design. What a fun challenge! :D


The whole process in an animated GIF:

shape-challenge-gif.gif


Larger images of them three for a better view on the details:

smug rhino copy.PNG

proud rooster copy.PNG

silly croc copy.PNG


Thank you for dropping by!

- oRen! -

WO-OWL BANNER copy.png

Sort:  

wow great colouring ..no wonder berkepok vote bro. Terbaik 👍

Thank you, bro. Aku ada guru yang baek, tapi nama dia aku terpaksa rahsiakan kat sini.

Gulp..kirim Salam maut kat guru ko tu yer..haha

Ok, jap. Lin, ada orang kirim salam maut kat kau.

Kita bongkar je nama tu kat sini ye...nama dia ialah @aku

hahaha sangat maut ni bro

Haha this is such a great entry @orenisme!! :D
Great Characters, I especially like the rhino! ^^
Happy to see you participating again this week!

Thank you @w0olf! It’s my pleasure to participate and my loss to have missed them.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

These are really great and this is an amazing challenge. I like they supply the shape and you imagine the character within that? Genius. That croc makes me smile, he's my favourite I think. This might be a fun contest to try. I'll have a think on this one.

Yes, the shapes were supplied so the challenge was to figure out the best way to fit a character design into each of them. I highly recommend that you should try this! Thank you. :)

Oh wow, these are great! The detail is awesome and how you used the shapes is very clever!

Thank you @renascence! It was really a fun challenge, figuring out how to fit each shape with a character was the best part of it. :D

Wahhh... Ini sudah lawan tokey!... hahaha!
Grats @orenisme ... This is insanely awesomee!
Great job!

I wouldn’t get this far if it weren’t for you and @perennial. So, THANK YOU! For both of you.

So polished! It'd be also nice to see a version of these three outside the outlines (though still maintaining their basic shapes). Love the work!

Yes, I was thinking to put them in a scene with backgrounds and all. But my time was limited, I got a few other works laying around that needed to be done. Thank you! :)

There never is enough time, is there

Congratulations @orenisme, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4666 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $9306.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67