DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST ENTRY - Week #3 -Punk Hades

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

DaCC-Hades-Cover.png

Welcome one and all, to the underworld! The home of Hades, Punk Rock and perhaps kittens!

Hello fellow Steemians. I present to you my entry for Design A Character Contest - Week 3 hosted by the awesome @w0olf. Thank you as always for hosting this wonderful contest, I urge anyone who hasn't joined yet, to give it a go!

Punk Hades - My Entry:


For my entry I tried to imagine what Hades would look like if he was an old-timey punk rocker, back in the Greek times. Classic Punk Rock Lord of the Underworld!

Hades-07.png

The (very long) Process:

So this image took me way longer than it should have, but I learnt a lot through doing this. I am still working on digital drawing skill, and I suspect that I have only stared to breach the very very very outer layer of what is possible.

Oh the shame...


This is where I started in this project, it look me hours and the results were more than horrifying (look at big chin and skyrim elf over here), although I did learn quite a bit from doing these:

Col-Horror.png

The Actual Process:

I started out using my references (Random google images, all rights reserved to their rightful owners) to draw a basic shape, I then traced it with a nice black line, and added some basic background colour for the skin.

ref.png

col00.png

For the next part I started adding my dark layer, then light layer, and of course we needed some hair.
Disclaimer: I didn't do all of these perfectly in order, and I jumped between my layers fixing things a... loooot....

col01.png

Next I added the blend (that became more than one) layer, so smooth out all the dark and light bits, and fix some shadows:

Hades-06.png

For my final trick I added some colour and details on the eyes, along with an overlay layer, containing some other colours, bringing out a little bit more skin tone, leaving me with the final image:

Hades-07-small.png

divider.png

Thank you for reading!

Comments, questions and critiques are always welcome.
100% Original Content / Vote / Resteem

Have a wonderful day.
SkippyZA ^_^

Sort:  

Siiiick @SkippyZA! Thabks for sgaring your struggles through the process lol at Skyrim elf reference! I dig that one too would make for a great neutral elf meme in the underworld haha

Thank you man. :D Showing the "struggles" are also important I think, it shows a more realistic picture of things I feel.

Absolutely, humanize the process, we're not perfect you know? You put alot of time and effort in dude, glad you learnt through the struggles, thats what its all about :P I'm yet to cross over into the digital world at all, I have only recently begun sketching again :)

Well done brother. Awesome pic and love the process. The character looks like one of those generic bad guys from one of my favourite games... Borderlands!

You got a 6.96% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @skippyza!

You got a 17.65% upvote from @minnowvotes thanks to @skippyza!

This post has received a 41.19 % upvote from thanks to: @skippyza.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.

Before sending a transfer to @minnowhelper, verify that your publication meets these conditions (http://www.minnowhelper.com/conditions.php). After the transfer is made, no claims will be received.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Yessss!!!!!!!

I will go with... this is a good Yes? :P

Lol no, i actually hate it. :P

When I see a white piece of paper, I feel I've got to draw. And drawing, for me, is the beginning of everything.

Hunting, fishing, drawing, and music occupied my every moment. Cares I knew not, and cared naught about them.

Architecture is a visual art, and the buildings speak for themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73