Naomi Novik. Hopeless


I do not know which genre includes a series of books by Naomi Novik about dragons named Desperate and Captain Lawrence. Maybe most of them look like fairy tales. Because the fantasy troupe is only a dragon, from an alternate history - only a planet-ready world in the early nineteenth century.

It is easy to denounce the writer for the fact that if a dragon really exists, they will change the past in the most unexpected way, and in 1805 events as we know are unlikely, but I like this decision. Where are China and India? I know what happened in France and England when I would imagine, the names of historical figures are also known to me: this means that when reading you do not have to look at the map or try to find out who is fighting who and why.

And the full reliability of this book is not necessary, if I want to fill my baggage of knowledge, I would rather switch to textbooks, monographs and memoirs, than to an adventure novel.

However, if accepting the existence of a dragon and an outline of events for faith, as a necessary condition for a work of art, one can only enjoy reading a good and beautiful book that brings to the reader the same thoughts as the intelligent work of Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

Sort:  

Great Post! Get Free Upvotes ! http://ity.im/CxSMf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49