My own fox hunt

in #desteni4 years ago (edited)

Today I witnessed a fox hunt - I knew they were still happening and I live near a prominent royal country home, where the biggest hunt in the UK was taking place, but I had never seen such horses looking majestic and the riders in their blazers with dogs a foot as they flushed out the terrified and tired fox.

Initially when I saw them I thought that they were polo ponies, as these are a regular feature too, I almost didn’t want to see what I was seeing... ‘look away from it, if you don’t see it, it didn’t happen was my reasoning’

That situation got me to thinking about when I first saw them stood aside the road I smiled at the fabulous power of the horses and the smart uniforms and muscular dogs - my emotions changed in a moment when my partner said ‘it’s the hunt - Filthy....’ so in that moment I didn’t know what I thought - I wanted to be annoyed and shout my dismay out of the car window and at the same time felt a little conflicted about how wonderful they all looked, and what a fabulous historical tradition to behold !

There is a part of me that is in awe and admiration of the landed gentry and country set, like I belong there somehow, perhaps memories from bygone days! And the hunting is a part of that tradition, can I overlook that part ?!

But my point here is that I changed - in a moment my mood swung - and I was lost, ‘what should I think about this?’ I didn’t know...

I started to feel guilty and judge myself for my initial thoughts, believing that I was evil in some way and feeling sorry for the poor fox.

Also there was this point of believing that I have to protest because it’s so wrong to kill a wild animal for entertainment, justifying that they are considered pests and not pets, and that in itself is a problem in this world.

Don’t get me wrong I love all animals big and small, but am I a hypocrite for judging others when I am creating
this conflict within myself, is this not self abuse ? Also when I have been ‘spiteful’ to others because I didn’t quite feel good about myself, how is this any different?

Self forgiveness to come...

.A8DFE178-03C5-4DBA-AD3D-3EAAA73FE99F.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @wordstoliveby! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59