Can't Take Back the Love That I Gave You!

in #determine5 years ago

If you've been following along on my lyric posts, then you are already fully aware that I'm obsessed with adapting lyrics to my own personal life.

It's a really fun exercise. I feel like it's something that everyone should do from time to time:

Just find a song that you like, blast it on your speakers or headphones, close your eyes and put yourself in the song...

It's kind of like writing a music video on your favorite song but putting yourself in as the main character.

Nothing really beats it as far as visualization techniques (at least for me, that is).

I was listening to a really great song earlier today and the lyrics that I'm talking about are the title of this post:

Can't Take Back the Love That I Gave You!

We all have our ups and downs when it comes to relationships in life... Some are great and amazing and make us hungry for more while others tear us down and offer nothing but despair - or so it seems they do.

What we don't get back is the time we spend and the love that we "spend" on a person. Material things are all replaceable with time and effort but it's those intangibles that are much harder to get over.

The thing that I like to remind myself is that relationships all serve to build your character. Every interaction, in fact, is set to build your character.

We can cry over spilt milk and we can cry over people calling us names or spouting trash about us, or we can just stand up and walk the other way. We can keep moving forward, knowing that their criticism and the time we spent with them will all serve to build us into a better person tomorrow.

This is how I like to approach life. I'm not saying it's the best way. Maybe we should choose more carefully who we spend our time with. I'm just a believer that you either win or you learn!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @determine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97