Nobody Can Take This Away!

in #determine5 years ago

I often think about life in a different way than others.

There are many principles by which I choose to live my life.

These principles make my life better. They enhance everything I do and they enhance the very way that I perceive the world and everything that happens to me and for me.

I just got some news about my eyes that I need to go see an opthamologist about..

Glaucoma runs in my family and I just got my eyes checked for a new contacts prescription and the doctor noticed that my optic nerve is irregular in my right eye.

I'm not overly worried about it.

While Glaucoma isn't curable per say, there are still so many things that you can for it when you detect it early.

So, even in the unlikely event that I have it (of which, I'm healthily skeptical), I will still be able to treat it.

My ultimate goal would be to treat it as best as possible for as long as I can.

I'm a big believer in medical technology and advancement.. Telling me that there's no future where we can find a cure for Glaucoma and even for those who are completely blind sounds ridiculous to me.

I know that 1 day this will all be curable... most probably in my lifetime.

But even in the EXTREME case that I were to go blind... losing my vision would be terrible indeed, but it would be far from the end of the world.

A common stoic principle is one that I choose to deploy here:

Nobody can take something from me which I am not prepared to lose.

I'm not dying.
I'm probably not going blind.

My life goes on and I choose to live in accordance with this. I can lose everything and still have so much. My mind and my soul make me who I am. I will never lose who I am and what I believe in.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24