Screen Break: Daydreaming a Better Future!!

in #determine5 years ago

In an effort to spend less time behind a screen, I’ve decided to pick up some habits that have nothing to do with staring at a monitor, my laptop or even my iPhone.

I’ve been feeling particularly exhausted from looking at screens… I end the day feeling groggy and sore. My eyes, in particular, hurt the most.

Follow along in my quest to pick up some habits that can get me away from the computer while still feeling productive!

Daydreaming

My first stop on this journey was to do some research on productive hobbies that don’t require screen time.

Daydreaming might not seem productive at first, but it definitely can be if you do it with purpose. Here’s a little excerpt I read from this life hack article

"Okay, so maybe this last one isn’t what is technically considered to be a ‘hobby’, but it still has benefits when practiced regularly and will make you more productive if used correctly.

Daydreaming awakens your creative side and allows you to explore ideas that you never even considered – even ideas that might just prove to be the solution you’ve been after.

If daydreaming leads to napping, that’s even better – studies have shown that a quick 20 minute nap in the afternoon can help provide clarity, memory retention, and help make you even more focused and productive with your batteries recharged.

Who said there weren’t benefits to daydreaming?”


My Plan of Action:

So my plan of action here is rather simple.

I'm going to turn off all the screens for a minimum of 20 minutes at some random interval in the middle of the day.

For these 20+ minutes, I'll take my contacts out, lie down somewhere comfortably and close my eyes.

I'll daydream about some sort of idea I have. Something I may be working on or something I may be trying to create in the future.

I've done this before when I was younger. Dreaming about a better life and a better future.

We'll see if it helps overcome all this stress and anxiety I've been feeling lately. Maybe it will also help me feel more rested and alert as well.

I'll keep you posted!

Try this out for yourself too and tell me if it helps you destress!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @determine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64