Understand the downside

in #determine5 years ago

It's pretty easy to forget about the downside.

To overlook the risks involved in chasing after your dreams.

Some of us have dreams to achieve great wealth and financial prosperity. Others are simply chasing after the freedom to create what they enjoy.

We all have different paths to walk in life, but we will all encounter downside at some point.

There will come a time for all of us when we are wrong and we lose, big time.

Sometimes, we will be blind-sided by this downside. We won't see it coming because we chose to ignore the scenario that we could be wrong.

I like to write down the downsides to what I do. I like to be consciously aware of them and ensure that I'm not just blindly making choices that could potentially lead to a blow up in my life.

I don't want my lifestyle to go away. I want it to improve over time.

When it comes to the Steem blockchain, things can be rough. It can be confusing to navigate and it can be especially exhausting.

The news about Steemit, Inc. powering down honestly had me worried this morning.

I read it before even getting out of bed and I was really confused and bewildered at first. I chose to let the day go on and let more information develop before becoming too emotional about it.

Now, after reading a few posts on the subject, I feel a little more at ease. People have explained some reasons why Steemit may be powering down and the reasons seem legit to me.

But it still serves as a good reminder to all:

nothing is set in stone. The Steem blockchain is not guaranteed to succeed. The downside is that you could potentially lose your entire investment of both time and money into this blockchain.

If you're willing to accept this downside risk, as I am willing to accept it, then do so with the knowledge that it EXISTS and that it is totally tangible and a possibility.

When you at least understand your downside, you can make more rational and healthy decisions.

Always stay informed and never choose to be ignorant to something of this magnitude. Stay wise and stay rational!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @determine!

You just got a 5.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @determine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63