What if they don't know the basics?

in #determine5 years ago

This is an interesting issue I came across today.

Many people don't know this about me, but I do and have done some tech consulting in the past.

It's a side thing.. It makes some extra cash flow each month, but it's not something I really passionate about.

Tech consulting is basically just solving 1 headache after another and dealing with annoyed people all day.

I prefer not to do it, but sometimes I'll take on a small gig.

Today, for example, I was asked to compress a bunch of photos into a smaller size for a company.

They had to follow some rigid guidelines for uploading their photos for some website thing that they were participating in.

Anyways, it got me to thinking:

this is such a basic computer task. I mean, all you have to do is right click the photos and hit compress, yet these people have no clue how to do it.

How do people work at a company and spend the majority of their time working on the computer yet still don't know how a basic computer functions?

Fundamental skills are always the most important. Many people don't realize this. That's what makes people like me so hirable and so desirable by companies... I have the fundamental skills to really go in any direction needed. Problem-solving is another way of looking at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64