You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mito-Medizin: Trend oder Tatsache? Part II – Von den Mitos zum zellulären Gezwitscher.

in #deutsch5 years ago

First of all, you are quite skilled at bridging the gap between the science and lay communities. Quite a trick, writing so you hold the attention of one and bring understanding to the other. Thanks for sharing your extraordinary expertise with us.
I'd like to tell you how very interesting this was to me on a number of fronts. I've been reading up on Huntington's, and as I worked my way through your article began to recognize some information that coincided with research I've come across. Even though much of the technical discussion can get away from me, enough of it gets through to make the whole picture sensible.
The most enjoyable part of your blog is the way you strive to make positive use of your research. This is not a dry, academic endeavor for you. This is the path of hope, of possible cures and a way to better lives. That is most admirable.
I did very much enjoy reading this, and will revisit it. No doubt, it will help me to understand my reading on Huntington's, which I return to on and off (between art projects--after all, without fun, what is life?)
With great respect, I wish you peace and a productive week,
AG

Sort:  

Hey @agmoore, thanks for the kind reply again.

I have to admit that this time the article was pretty complex and much more hard then usually. The reason was just that I recognized the topic is so multi-faced it was a prerequisite to writing them in that way for preventing conceptional errors.

The last part I have to try to bridge the gap for more understandable content. It nice that I have included the most important facts in the first two article thus I just have to refer to them.

May I ask you where your interest in Huntington disease is coming from. Actually, this topic is quite interesting. I read an article about this where the researchers compared various animals. They found that amount these glutamine repeats increased with the evolutionary level of the animals. Very primitive animals (without a brain) had no repeats. Flies and stuff just had one or two. Sea stars had some more and finally mammals, especially humans had many more. Today it seems like that the more glutamine repeats someone has, the better are the neurological abilities (intelligence). Unfortunately, with the bad side effects.

Nevertheless, by knocking out the gene you can interrupt brain formation.

Huntington is, therefore, a "mutation" which is beneficial and destructive at the same time.

Have you ever wrote something about it?

Anyway

I go the bed now.

See ya next time

Chapper

I've been nibbling at the edges of this for a few weeks now. Since I'm not trained in science, I circle around and pick up crumbs until I begin to get a cohesive picture. I've read a few good articles about the relationship between Huntington's, Parkinson's and Alzheimer's. The thrust of the articles seems to be not a cure, but a treatment to modify symptoms. And this seems, in some research, to indicate turning off the signaling that causes the cells to behave in a way that's pathological. I lack the vocabulary to describe what I so far understand, but will acquire that vocabulary in time --I hope. You see why your article was interesting to me. It's one more, really big crumb on the trail :) Here's an article I picked up today, and will save, because of clues laid out in your blog.
I'm pretty sure I'll write about Huntington's in some fashion...but what will I say? Still a mystery to me 😄

Since I'm not trained in science, I circle around and pick up crumbs until I begin to get a cohesive picture.

This is also the case when you are already trained ;-)

AD & Parkinson is also related to mitochondria. Maybe I will try to go further into this subject in the third part of my series, but I can't promise.

Concerning the Huntington stuff. This is a total interesting case.

Maybe I will write something briefly about it! I wish I would have more time.

Anyway

Hope to read some fresh scientific stuff by you soon.

And don't forget. If I'm not responding it's because of my feed!

So far

All best

Chapper

Thanks for the encouragement. Getting close... Hope to read your blog about Huntington's soon :)
Peace until then,
AG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70