You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 17 Plugins to Install on Android Studio

in #dev5 years ago

Let me comment on Project Lombok since I don't like it so much :)

Project Lombok is first of all a tool that introduces changes to Java's syntax and makes certain assumptions that require a plugin to understand it. The outcome is no longer Java code - it's something that can be built to become Java ByteCode with use of additional tools. I am not against introducing such features as part of Java's syntax but I am against making such alterations and still calling it Java. some of the features are now part of Java 9/10/11/12 and then it's OK as vanilla Java. I would also be OK if someone called it lombok and called the files XYZ.lom and allowed them to get build with mvn/Gradle, but when I see java files I expect them to be handled by any Java handling tool out of the box and Lombok is not that.

People complain about the boilerplate code as if it was the only thing they wrote in a programming language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82