Creating a new project | #03 - Setting up authentication

in #dev5 years ago

If you haven't read the last post you can find it here


**TLDR** I am building a web application from scratch using PHP Laravel and learning in the process, the application will be a Recipe sharing app that I will build on overtime.
In the last post, I spoke about setting the environment up. Now I've been starting on the backend.



After creating a basic startup Laravel project I wanted to add Authentication straight off the bat. The ability for a user to register and login is the bases of the whole application, so I thought it was important to get that right from the get-go.

Laravel makes creating authentication super easy and can create using one simple Artisan command



When running this command, Laravel does all the hard work for you, even done to creating the routes for you.

Auth::routes();

All the views are creaed:


Screenshot 20190725 at 08.34.40.png


Within 10 minutes I have auth all setup and working, I am now apple to register/log in. The Next step is to get the CRUD functionality built for users to create posts ('recipes'). This is something that will start basic and be built on overtime.


In the next post, I will show you the app in its current state. I'm focusing on the backend more than the front end styling currently, so it won't look anything special haha!


Thanks for reading and following the process, I'd love to hear from you. Feel free to drop a comment below. Feedback is key to my learning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96