You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on open source vs free

in #development5 years ago

There is no free lunch. The bill will come around soon enough. I've been watching a trading mentor that claims he will never charge for the free content he is producing. Then all the sudden there is a tip and donation bot, then talk about an advanced course you will most likely pay for. I think we all like the idea of open sourced information (myself included), but then squirm at the thought of valuing someone's time or value. I think it comes down to how much we value ourselves 1st and how we balance that with charity or giving back.

Sort:  

I guess I know what mentor you are talking about. There is a new advance course but I guess donations are being made for increase in performance and I think I will do that as well if I start to see better trades myself I really appreciate what he has done and putting all that information together is good and he has put a lot of effort on that I hope he would join Steemit for better author rewards and easier donations system :P

Oh for certain! I appreciate the contributions he has made no question. I was pointing out that the phenomenon you speak of transcends coding or trading.

Yep I agreed! Any activity/job/service or knowledge,, people want everything for free or 0 effort

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73