You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remember The Good Old Days? I Want Them Back. Come Take A Trip Down Memory Lane.

in #devolution5 years ago

I was mesmerized by the perfectly assembled Old Fashioned!

But, I remember these things and carry them with me. I tell my godkids two boys (5&8) that my phone doesn't have games and when I was there age I woke up before the sun to milk the cows, and collect the eggs. I walked miles in knee deep snow to get to school where we all looked forward to recess when we would play mostly imaginary games. I'd get home from school and even though I was only 8 some days I was left home alone without fear of burning the house down despite the fact I made my own grilled cheese sandwiches. When it was dinner time the family gathered around the table and a meat and two and talked about what we learned today in school. My parents would let me know if I don't want to be a latchkey kid we had options but I assured them I understood and was fine alone for a couple of hours where I could watch duck tales. A cartoon that was drawn by humans without code.

After dinner the neighborhood kids would gather to play some sportsball or build very unsafe bike ramps, get concussions and not cry or tell our parents what happened.

I saw the advent of the video game age, I even won a Nintendo for wearing my dodgers uniform to the mall for a contest. I played Super Mario a few times and then let the whole neighborhood come over to play because I was bored with the mashing buttons. I wanted to go play ball and it was easy to convince my friends to be of the same mind. I then saw the dawn of the internet and it was OK but the sun is still up wanna play ball to will nearly collapse ? I respected the influx of tech but also despised it at the same time. I remember being angry when my friends got pagers and later cell phones that their parents would call to "check in".. This is bullshit I'd say, I got a job at 14 washing dishes, paid for half my car, all the gas, insurance and maintenance, why do I have to carry this thing in case of an emergency? WTF could happen that a screwdriver or jack can't fix? My grandpops made it through 50 years of driving without a cell phone so can I thought 🤔 Alas I was wrong and became perfunctory to be able to navigate the internet and email just to go to college. I will always be old school, it's much of the reason I'm not exactly the most popular steemian and never will be. I'm playing catch up because I see an angle to take some if the power back that was stolen away from us. Doing it with the latest technology is ironic and I appreciate having this thing in my hands that really old schoolers beyond all hope are afraid of.

I don't fear change, I fear those that can't think for themselves and use that fear as their currency.. I might have just made a future post with this comment. That's called teamwork or communication, symbiosis, and it's the cornerstone of a life worth living.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I would like to resteem this comment. HF22? This was grade A.

Thanks man, your musings inspired the free flow. I'll work on it and fix the grammar stuff. Maybe include an article I just read declaring that crypto is basically evil SMH..

Posted using Partiko Android

Best comment. Love it.

You know, I gave my nephews, 11 and 14, 30 bucks of coins for their birthdays yesterday and taught them how to coin noodle, looking for valuable coins. They LOVED it. Best present ever.

The youngest loves fishing, survival stuff, electronics, and anything practical. Gets obsessed and reads about everything he can to learn about it. Oldest reads and reads and goes surfing and skating. My sister is there for them when they come home. They dont watch a lot of telly, screen time is limited. They almost, almost have the golden childhood we did. That my son had, on the cusp of the overly digital age... born as he was in 1997, he wasnt allowed a phone til 16, and wifi went off at 10, and he wasn't allowed it in his room alone. Kudos to parents who understand the dangers of too much tech. Except the modern world with all its fears encroaches... but then, didnt it with us, too?

If i had a switch, I would turn it all off in an instant. Yet here I am, and here you are.

I had a blessed childhood of surfing and horses. Built cubbies by the creek. Travelled before instagram. Wrote letters. Knew what it was to lose track of people, because our lives werent digitised, sanitised, monetised.

How blessed.

But all I gotta do now is switch off. I guess one day I will.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said, it's all about finding a balance I suppose. That's something we can be guided towards but it cannot be defined by anyone other than ourselves.

Here we are indeed.

I can stop to smell the roses and take a shot of them to make a shitpost. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75