Diabetes and my little girl

in #diabetes7 years ago

To a parent that does not have diabetes themselves, having you're little girl diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the tender age of 18months is quite a earth shattering event. All kinds of emotions and fears run through your mind, and the first question you ask is "Why God,....why did you not give it to me instead" comes to bear.

So, very quickly, you need to learn to deal with the situation. Me being an engineer, thinking that we would simply need to learn a process or procedure to handle the disease had a saddening realization that the current available treatments are not nearly advanced enough yet to make this a simple walk in the park.

Luckily, my little girl is turning 4 years old this December, and I truly can say she is a gift that only God could have made. The most cheerful, happy and active little girl not even showing any concern about her being slightly different from her classmates.

I hope that engineering, technology and perhaps some work I get an opportunity one day to do will help to make the management of diabetes, especially for small children, much easier in future.

Just thought to share some details of my life with the community and perhaps build a support network or group in which diabetes can be discussed in future.

If you would like to know more about this topic, please do let me know by reply and or upvoting this post?

Regards
Rob

Sort:  

Sounds intresting. You got a upvote from me!

Have Type I diabetes myself. Life keeps going! It becomes second-nature after awhile.

Thanks for the reply, it gives us so much more hope to know there are so many people living with diabetes without it becoming the only controlling factor in life. I really hope that my girl will grow up without it being a major problem for her.

I saw that you liked my post I wrote awhile back on Type I diabetes. I appreciate you took the time to read it. As a doctor, I hope to manage this disease to the best of my ability. I hope that helped you understand the physiology a little better. It was written for diabetics and families that have to face this burden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56